Start up issues - Newly Built - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2011, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default Start up issues - Newly Built

If anyone thinks it's relevant I can rattle off my specs. But for the gist of my problem I don't think it's needed.

I power on, and get the MSI screen and can go into BIOS. I've used both internal and external cdrom drives. BIOS recognizes the drive, I select it to be my first boot device. But when it starts to boot with it, I just get a black screen and a blinking cursor. I've tried several different boot CDs. I verified that my XP CD boots up correctly on my laptop.

Anyone got any ideas to try? I'm all ears.
__________________

chris777 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Try disconnecting your hard drive. Just to test. Sometimes the HDD wants to override everything. I get that in my older system.

Unplug your HDD cable, start it up with a CD, see if it boots, if so, shut down, put HDD back in, reset boot order and try booting from the CD again.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Try disconnecting your hard drive. Just to test. Sometimes the HDD wants to override everything. I get that in my older system.

Unplug your HDD cable, start it up with a CD, see if it boots, if so, shut down, put HDD back in, reset boot order and try booting from the CD again.
Good Idea. Because when I first tried to boot I got the blank cursor, before I put the boot disk in. Hope that's it! brb!
chris777 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Have a few HDs, unplugged all of them and only device in BIOS is the external cdrom. No luck. Still just a blinking cursor. My keyboard no longer works when I get that cursor. Can't hit numlock etc, or ctl-alt-del.
chris777 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Try plugging the sata cable into a different sata port.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Try plugging the sata cable into a different sata port.
I've tried internal and external. And the external is USB. Tried different USB ports. The internal drive does the exact same thing. And I verified that the cd I'm using worked on my laptop. =/ Also just tried to boot it with out any CD in the drive. Same blinking cursor, so it never even tries to boot.
chris777 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Try resetting BIOS.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 08:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Try resetting BIOS.
Flashing the bios? I could possibly download a bootable BIOS flash for it and see if that works? Or do you mean resetting to default..like load fail safe defaults(which i tried)?

MSI NF750-G55 AM3 NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
chris777 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

On Chip IDE Controller: Enabled/Disable -default enabled
PCI IDE BusMaster: Enabled/Disable -default enabled
On Chip SATA Controller: Enabled/Disable -default enabled
RAID Mode: IDE/ATHI/RAID -default IDE

I tried a few different settings in here, but nothing working. Any ideas?
chris777 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Start up issues - Newly Built

By reset BIOS, I meant power down, take the watch battery off the board, wait a few minutes, put it back in and start it up. Everything will be default, and it can fix a lot of more things.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newly Built PC, Cant Get Into to BIOS Fission New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-06-2008 12:42 PM
Newly built computer Compguys Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-08-2007 09:23 PM
Problems with newly built PC JoseMCeee Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-15-2006 04:00 PM
Issues with my newly built computer. JB83 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-20-2005 07:19 PM
Newly Built PC Wont start?! please post sneaky System Upgrades 3 09-04-2005 03:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.