Start Up Help...... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2007, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Angry Start Up Help......

Hey...MY computer which is a hp7690 won't start up windows XP....When i turn on the COMPUTER it just KEEPS RELOADING WINDOWS XP...It goes to the BLACK screen and then to the XP,then BACK to the BLACK screen etc....HELP from a NEWBIE....thanks

ezd20 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Start Up Help......

Ahhh got it matey,have you tried starting up in updus Modus?

If this doesnt work,do you owe a XP software?

If so place in the harddrive let in run for while and then ESC it.

And then try starting up.

I had the same problme with my packard bell desktop ages ago,lastly after many failure attempts of runing it in updus Modus i allowed win 2000 (was the only software i head back then without an error) to run.

Upon ESCing it after 2 mins when i started up again,it worked.

So try that.

4-Ever-Euphemistic is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Start Up Help......

i think your harddrive got corrupted some, game or something crashed and messed up the hd...

if you have the disc to a recovery...or if you want, do a whole new install. I did
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
superdave1984's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Start Up Help......

Ummmm.....I can't understand what that says....
But I think the what he means is to do a repair install or use the recovery console by inserting yuor XP disc into the CD drive and restarting to boot from the CD. If you try the repair console when it wants commands try the following:
fixboot <enter>
fixmbr <enter>
chkdsk -r <enter>

Then see what happens. Chkdsk checks your hard drive for errors. Also you may want to download Memtest and put on a floppy to check your RAM.
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Angry THANKS...I"LL try 2night...

The system worked great last night...I unplugged the computer last night so i could get a serg protector to hook up today and then this happens....I might add that it keep REPEATING on the SCREEN that says...SORRY for etc.... Hit START WINDOWS NORMALLY .....SAFE MODE,or SAFE MODE with NETWORKING,SAFE MODE with Command PROMPT...etc...and then it goes to the WINDOWS XP screen and then back to SORRY..etc...
ezd20 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 06:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Start Up Help......

the boot sector on your hardrive in corrupted you can fix it by rebooting and holding down the F8 key and starting windows in safe mode with command prompt
tomjennings83 is offline  
Old 11-16-2007, 12:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11

I tried hitting enter on SAFE MODE but it still cycled through and started to REAPEAT again..and then i tried..TOTAL system RESOTRE and it scaned for a sec and then brought me to a BLUE SCREEN...sayning..WINDOWS has shut down..etc.....and then it is says TECHNICAL INFORMATION....*STOP 0x0000001E (0x0000005,0xBF938000,0x00000000,0x009E20F8) win32k,sys - Address BF938000 base at BF800000 DATABASE what this ALL MEANS i don't hav a CLUE...but since TOTAL SYSTEM RESTORE didn't work(i think i did it right) than is it time to call some COMPUTER shops.Oh by the way my computer didn' come with a Start up DISK.....
ezd20 is offline  
Old 11-16-2007, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Start Up Help......

get into your bios...choose default settings...
use a legit winxp a a complete reinstall

related findings...
"STOP 0x0000001E" Error Message During Windows Setup

search thread for stop error i did...
MSDN Enhanced Search

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 09:43 PM
Computer won't start POST etc etc..plz help Kruzz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-09-2007 01:58 PM
AMD X2 5000 OC?? Where to start? Ice8168 Overclocking and Modding 16 07-19-2007 10:10 PM
Start menu doesn't "remember" in Vista kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 9 06-11-2007 10:57 PM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 08:54 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.