Standby Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2008, 03:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Arrow Standby Problem

When I put my PC on standby, my lights and fans inside the PC are still on... here is a youtube video I made of the problem.
Youtube link:
at the end I push the power button and it turns back on fine, video got cut off on my bad phone.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Standby Problem

anyone know?
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Standby Problem

Mines too. Different computers standby differently.
Advanced Configuration and Power Interface - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

My fans stay on at standby.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-03-2008, 11:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Standby Problem

is there any way to change how it standbys? It sounds like my Hard drive is the only thing turning off lol. I want everything off, and when I power on its all back (not hybernate mode)
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 03-13-2008, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Standby Problem

Just posted a long, detailed reply to this then realized i was'nt loged in so lost it ALL !!!!! Basically comes down to power options in windows control panel. But often much more to getting the comp to "completely power down on standby", which involves bios settings. If anyone's still following this post and needs help let me know or send a private email. TOO late in the night to type it all out again. In Australia when this happens many of us say,"---". Nah ! I wont say it ! Night All. Brunoboy.
Brunoboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Standby Problem SmellyOne Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-05-2007 05:45 PM
Standby mode problem Jester01 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-14-2007 02:20 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM
Standby Problem Bowers Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-22-2007 06:30 PM
standby problem in xp ramesh Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-17-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.