SSD Locked - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2015, 04:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: England
Posts: 3
Default SSD Locked

Hello everyone,

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, this is my first time posting on here and I am hoping someone may be able to help me.
A few days ago I decided to do a full reset on my computer (Windows 8.1 64 Bit) and I put the installation disc in but it said Windows 8 cannot be installed on this drive.
I have 2 hard drives in my computer; an 120gb SSD for the operating system, programs etc.. and a 2 TB HDD for documents which I unplugged. However, now the computer will not boot up from the SSD because it says that there is a required partition missing. I did some research in to this and found out that Windows 8.1 has locked the hard drive and I do not know how to unlock it again. I took an old hard drive out of my old laptop with Windows 7 on it and the computer boots from that fine so it has to be my SSD.

Does anyone know how you can unlock an SSD? I do have access to windows 7 and when I go to disk management I can see the SSD but when I unplug the Windows 7 hard drive, the computer will still not boot up from the SSD.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated,
Thank you in advance
Joe
__________________

Joe Drage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: SSD Locked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Drage View Post
Hello everyone,
I have 2 hard drives in my computer; an 120gb SSD for the operating system, programs etc.. and a 2 TB HDD for documents
Windows will install the boot partition on the second drive, When you originally installed windows on the ssd, it probably put the boot partition on the 2 tb drive at that time. You removed the 2tb drive and lost the boot partition. Adding another drive with a boot partition did work for you but you really need to put the boot partition on the ssd.
How to Manually Repair Windows 7 Boot Loader Problems
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: England
Posts: 3
Default Re: SSD Locked

Thanks for the reply! I installed my second hard drive a few months after the first and I have plugged it back in and it as made no difference. The operating system is installed on the SSD and when I type bootrec /ScanOs it does not pick up on any windows installations. I think it is the SSD which is the problem.. as I said before I think it has locked itself as when I try to reset the pc it says "The drive where windows is installed is locked. Unlock and try again". I am using Windows 8.1 not windows 7 on this machine. Any ideas how to unlock the SSD?
Joe Drage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: SSD Locked

Try this:
Quote:
The drive where Windows is installed is locked. Unlock the drive and try again.
You are being redirected...

And there's a link on that page to repair the MBR
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/repair...rd-mbr-windows
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: England
Posts: 3
Default Re: SSD Locked

Thank you, that worked..however it wiped my SSD and there were a few files on there which I didnt intend to delete. Is there any way at all that I can get those files back?

Thanks
Joe
Joe Drage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: SSD Locked

Try running Recuva on the drive to see if you can recovery anything:
https://www.piriform.com/recuva
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD and Cache SSD? I_Am_Skip System Upgrades 9 01-08-2012 09:19 PM
ocz ssd vs kingston ssd? gordonie Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 11-11-2011 07:28 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM
mSATA SSD vs SATA SSD Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-29-2011 10:11 AM
SSD TRIM Function Intel X25 SSD thesilversavers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 19 05-22-2011 10:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.