Speaker Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2006, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default Speaker Problem

Hello, this is my first time posting here, and i read the rules before posting and im pretty sure what im asking is valid. If im posting this in the wrong section let me know, but it seemed like im having trouble with my hardware so i felt this was the area appropriate.

I cant control the volume of my speakers, I havent changed any settings it just happened one day. I can control the volume through my computer, and the speakers can be turned on and off, but the knob used to alter the volume doesnt do anything right now, im playing music but the knobs all the way to zero and it shouldnt be making any sound, this is a problem cause now i cant get my volume up to its highest, does anyone know what this problem is? I havent gotten any hardware error messages, and i cant seem to find the answer anywhere on the internet, the speakers work fine and give me sound, i can slightly change the volume using the volume control in the volume control, but i cant alter the speakers volume directly.

please help, I'll post my hardware specs if necessary, i dont know what i need to post though, my speakers are nxt flat speakers if thats of any help.

Zackreaver is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 318

Try some differnt speakers, if i have understood u correctly their is a possibility the volume knob is broken bt the rest of the spekers work fine. So see what the results are with diff speakers.

<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=2883\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/2883.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
DynaSig: <a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net\">Dynamic Forum Signature</a>
Crusader is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
molsen's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen

yea the volume knob probably just crapped out and essentially is "stuck" in one position.

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.