SP2 conflicting with Sympatico Internet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2005, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default SP2 conflicting with Sympatico Internet

I'm using windows XP and I have a fine internet connection until I download service pack 2 from microsoft. Once I restart the computer for SP2 to take affect my intenet doesn't work properly. I get an icon saying limited or no connectivity. Therefor I can browse the internet for all of a couple mins and thats all. I have called the techs from sympatico and it doens't solve anything. They take me through a couple steps and its fine but afterwards the same problem happens. If anyone can help me with this problem that would be greatly appreciated thank you.
__________________

gator is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well SP2 has it's good's and bad's. It's a great patch, and a nessicity.

However, if your computer had spyware, virus, or an old installation of windows, it had a tendency to cause problems with SP2. This is why I recomend reinstalling windows when installing SP2.

Now how are you connecting to sympatico, thru their software or thru the built in windows software?

And, since you had limited or no connectivity, I am guessing you are dirrectly connecting to the modem, and not connecting thru a router.


I know, that I have never had issues with SP2 and Sympatico before.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I tried reformatting my comp twice and I ended up with the same problem. I'm using their software and using ethernet.
gator is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Ok you didnt answer my question if you were behind a router. If you keep having this problem, after reformatting, I think it's most likely a hardware conflict.

Could you post up your Network Card / Chip infomation as well.

So tell me if you are behind a router or not

Also, do this. Click start > run > type cmd > type ipconfig /all

Post up that infomation as well.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Hey. Alright well i'm not the greatest giving computer info but i'll try. Hopefully this is what your asking for.
My network adapter is a VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter.
As for the router goes, i'm not clear on what that is exactly. Is it a connector that connects multiple computers? If so then no I don't have one hehe.
Here is the other info you asked for

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : angela
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-2D-29-AA
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.157.103
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

PPP adapter Sympatico Access Manager:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 70.51.136.213
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 70.51.136.213
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 206.47.244.107
207.236.176.10

C:\>
gator is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Have you tried reinstalling the sympatico acess manager?

Option 2 is to not use the sympatico access manager, if you want to try this it would be best to send me an MSN or AIM message as it's a bit more complicated.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.