Soyo Dragon Ultra KT400 + AMD Athlon XP 2400+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2008, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Soyo Dragon Ultra KT400 + AMD Athlon XP 2400+

I have started experiencing problems with my Soyo Dragon Ultra KT400 motherboard, and my AMD Athlon XP 2400+. The CMOS battery died out, so I replaced it. All was fine, until I started noticing that when I loaded up Windows Media Player, to play .AVI files, the video would skip and jump. Barely noticeable, but it was annoying. I opened up task manager to see what the processes where. Nothing out of the norm, just Windows Media Player utilizing 100% of the processor. I removed all my codecs, and reinstalled them. Still the same problem after reboot. I went into the System Properties to get the Device Manager open, to reinstall drivers for the video card. When I did, I noticed that my 'Computer' information showed my processor as an AMD Athlon XP 1800+, and running at only 1.5Ghz. I thought that was very odd, so I opened up CPUZ. It also showed the XP 1800+ and 1.5Ghz. My multiplier was set at 15 which is normal, but my bus speed was set at 100Mhz, not the default 133Mhz. I went into the BIOS, to change the bus speed, and set it back to 133. All was fine, XP and CPUZ showed the processor as the 2400+. Played videos fine, and all was good throughout the night. I shut the computer down when I was done with it. I come in this morning and turn it on. Notice the same exact problem. It went back to 100Mhz bus speed. It has NEVER done this. Not even when I first got the board a few years back, did it set the default bus speed to 100Mhz, always 133Mhz. Whenever I had to clear the CMOS, it always stayed at 133Mhz. Any idea what's happening? Maybe a corrupt BIOS?

95BlackGA is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Soyo Dragon Ultra KT400 + AMD Athlon XP 2400+

Seems like it may be a corrupt BIOS or some related problem. I'm not an expert on motherboards, mind you. But flashing the BIOS with whatever Soyo's latest offering might be a good idea.
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 06:59 PM
Good motherboard combo for AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane amsoil System Upgrades 2 02-26-2008 10:41 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 09:40 PM
overclock 3300+ AMD athlon 64 D-Rocks Overclocking and Modding 3 09-30-2007 10:03 AM
Soyo Dragon loses video signal Ltat42a Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-25-2007 02:55 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.