Soundcard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2007, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Soundcard

when i play a game like ut3 or css, my music in winamp and wmv stops. Is there a way to get around this?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Soundcard

anyone have a clue?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Soundcard

Update sound drivers, reinstall card, reinstall winamp or other medias.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Soundcard

If your using the built in sound card in the mobo, then you should be able to (I have the same mobo and have the same games and can play mp3 while playing) just to get that out of the way.

Can you open and mp3 in winamp and then open another mp3 in Windows Media Player and have them play at the same time?

I know in steam there is some sort of built in mp3 player (that may be linked to winamp, which could possible be stopping the mp3 from playing. If you minimize the game, can you play mp3's, does it stop the mp3's player or just cut the sound?
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 12-05-2007, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Soundcard

im using a pci soundcard. i think tho that its a built in game soudntrack feature. becuase it works with older games and the such
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 12-06-2007, 01:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default Re: Soundcard

The game might request all open streams available on your soundcard. For example my card has 64 streams available. When I play music in winamp it goes to 63, if at the same time I also open youtube and play a video then its down to 62.
Better soundcard = more streams
__________________

poorman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soundcard Game-Music problem Kloppstock Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 09-09-2007 05:11 PM
SoundCard Problem??? nitin321 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 09-04-2007 04:33 AM
Linking case audio to soundcard? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 5 08-02-2007 01:46 AM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM
Soundcard Installation Help Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-24-2007 03:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.