Sound ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2009, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Sound ports

Hey everyone

I got a computer from school and they have the sound ports disabled. I plug in speakers and put a CD for music and I cant hear anything. How do i enable the sounds ports? Here are the specs.


Motherboard: BioStar M7VIZ
Ram: 1024mb
Harddrive: Western Digital 1TB
CPU: Amd Athlon XP
__________________

__________________
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Sound ports

1) It is possible the drivers were disabled or not installed. Look in device manager.
2) It could be that they disabled onboard sound in bios.
3) It is possible they just muted the sound.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default Re: Sound ports

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
1) It is possible the drivers were disabled or not installed. Look in device manager.
2) It could be that they disabled onboard sound in bios.
3) It is possible they just muted the sound.

I looked in the device manager everything looks good. The sound is not muted so it must be in the bio's. Where would i look in there? If I reset the bios by moving the jumper would that fix the audio problem. If so ive done that a couple of times.
__________________
D-Rocks is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Sound ports

Have you tried reinstalling drivers just in case?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Soundcard or not? JB Rekit Computer Audio and Multimedia 33 09-14-2008 01:14 AM
sound card compatable with MIDI? pianoguy Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 08-03-2008 12:57 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.