Sound Not Working! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Unhappy Sound Not Working!

I just started having this problem today, and I can think of a something that may have caused it.

My computer was getting a little dusty. I mean, ALOT dusty. So my brother got the air compressor out and blew all the dust out of my computer with all the air blowing out of the air compressor hose attachment.

When I plugged it back in, and booted it up, I tried playing a .mp3 with Winamp. That's when I get this error:

http://img45.imageshack.us/img45/5405/error2fb.jpg

It seems weird though, since it's saying something's wrong with my drivers, yet I haven't changed anything on my hard drive at all.

If you need anymore info about my system or anything like that, just say.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 03:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

perhaps something was disconnected when you had the case open. maybe something was damaged :/. try re-installing the drivers and winamp. i know my suggestions really aren't solutions but this is an odd problem
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

I might try to see if maybe it came loose. If it did, and putting it back in fixes the problem, I have no idea why it gave me that error.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 03:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Ok, I found the problem. The card was really loose. I took it out, then put it back in and pushed it right in. It's working now.

Thanks.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

glad it turned out to be that simple . i was worried this was going to be one of those near unsolvable problems
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.