sound hardware not registering - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2007, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default sound hardware not registering

Hey, I apologize if you guys take offense to new members making new topics.

anyways, here's my problem:

I've been using the icemat siberia headset and sound card for a couple months, and before that I was using the on-board sound of my Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3.

A few days ago, my pc crashed and when I got it running again, if I tried to run any mp3's or sound files at all, it wouldn't work, and if I try to go to my volume panel, it just gives me a "no active mixers available" error. I searched this up and found that some people go to run>services.msc>windows audio, then try restarting it and making sure it's set to auto. mine already was but I tried stopping and restarting it. this never worked for me, and I've tried that, plus reinstalling drivers serveral times. I tried with both the icemat usb soundcard and the motherboards sound, and when I check my sound, speech and audio devices, there's nothing registered there and it's greyed out.

I tried a system restore which didn't help, and I really don't want to reformat right now.

Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
__________________

zoso357 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

Go into your device manager, if there is that little yellow exclamation point in the Sound section then you'll know what the problem is, but from the scenario you've described its as if you don't even have a sound card plugged in right?
__________________

ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

I'm not using a secondary sound card, just the motherboard. It has with high quality 7.1 surround sound. In device manager - under audio, nothing has an exclamation point with it. here's a screenshot of it, and the status of my audio device properties.

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w...ughn357/12.jpg
zoso357 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

Try installing Windows drivers for it, then upgrade the drives through the device manager.

Through Control Panel, go to Add new hardware. Click next, it will search for new devices, then when it prompts you, tell it that you have already connected the device. Then tell it that you will install the hardware manually from a list. Click audio devices and under Standard System Devices, install all the audio drivers on that list. Reboot and *hopefully* you'll have sound. If you do, problem solved and then go on ahead and upgrade it to the manufacturer's drivers.

Let me know how it goes.
ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

it appears I'm getting the exact same errors, but in device manager, instead of the list of sound/video devices being what they were, now its got double and triple of some of them.
zoso357 is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

my onboard sound didn't work on my gigabyte ga-m55sli-s4 and I fixed it by plugging in the ac97 (front case audio) into the board, otherwise make sure the jumpers are on it, for some reason, the onboard sound didnt function without the jumpers or actual plugs
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

I think those audio jumpers are for the CD drive, otherwise integrated sound shouldn't require and physical configuration.

Sorry, through the device manager, uninstall everything related to sound, then go through the steps that I've provided.
ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReikokuKo View Post
I think those audio jumpers are for the CD drive, otherwise integrated sound shouldn't require and physical configuration.

Sorry, through the device manager, uninstall everything related to sound, then go through the steps that I've provided.
what? the board came stock with jumpers on the f_audio... thus once I removed them (I was going to install the front audio, but was too lazy) my sound stopped, no more driver recognition or anything

I posted somewhere and was told to either plug in the f_audio cables or to put the jumpers back on
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 05:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

Thats interesting. So you have audio jacks in the front of your case and in the back?
ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 10-05-2007, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: sound hardware not registering

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReikokuKo View Post
Thats interesting. So you have audio jacks in the front of your case and in the back?
well yeah, I have the onboard sound jacks ( on my motherboard, comes out through the back in the IO panel )

and I've got the ones on the front end of my case, they have cables which plug in to the motherboard, known as either AC97, AC97_HD or some intel method
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hotrodding the X-Fi Apokalipse Overclocking and Modding 9 08-13-2007 11:39 AM
Sound card vs. Integrated sound on p35-ds3r MOBO OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-16-2007 01:32 PM
Laptop has not sound hardware? j12 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-16-2007 11:53 PM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.