Sound Card + Front Audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default Sound Card + Front Audio

If I bought a new sound card and disabled my onboard audio, would my computer's front audio ports...
A. Still work?
B. Use the sound card, rather than the onboard audio?
__________________

Orayn is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

The front audio ports come right from your on board audio card via a couple cables to the front hub on your case. You can change this of course. Disconnect the wire coming from the front port going to the motherboard. Now take this wire and attach it to your new soundcard. Most cards will have the pins for a front audio source. Refer to the soundcards manual to double check. You can really keep the onboard audio card enabled and have two soundcards, just change the defaults in windows.
__________________

poorman is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Ah. Thanks. I'm just doing this because my onboard audio clicks and pops frequently.
Orayn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.