Sound Activated Cathode Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default Sound Activated Cathode Problem

I have not a big problem, but a tad annoying one.


I have a 2.1 speaker set up with my 2 speakers next to my monitor, and my bass on the floor.


My computer sits on the desk, away from the ground..


I bought A logysis sound activated 15" cold cathode, installed it and it works great really bright too

But there is a problem....

When I turn it on to sound mode, I put the knob in between on and off so when there is a bass it lights up and such.


I have the speaker set up so its outside my case, but it obviously cant go very far.


My problem is what are my options.


If I bang slightley on the desk, or hit my desk lightly with my mouse then it does it correctly, but when I play a song, I have very minimal or even no response.



I have set the knob so that its as high as it can go with out it automatically being on, so right now its at its at its most sensative.




:sigh: any ideas?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Anybody?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

for starters you don't want to have speakers near a monitor (unless it is an LCD of course). i think i remember reading of a mod you could do in which you could wire the sound input directly to the sound controller in place of the microphone.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Also keep your bass away from your computer period. I think I remember reading that the magnets are strong enough to wipe stuff off hd's because now my bass is on the floor and not on desk and I dont remember why.. Lol

Anyway... Does your bass have alot of ummph. Maybe too much that it just feels like your bashing it. I really dont know but just find someone with some cathodes like that or someone who knows about them.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.