Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2006, 08:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Default Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't

Hi there. Hope someone can help with the following problem:
Computer was working fine until recently and I haven't made any changes or added any new hardware. When I switch it on it powers up with fans running and lights on etc but there are no beeps and nothing on the screen, no lights on the keyboard and the broadband modem light just flashes. However if I switch the power off at the mains and back on again and then try again it usually comes on and everything works fine after that (sometimes I have to do this two or more times to bring it back to life). Its an Athlon XP2400 running windows xp. 512mb ram. Graphics is onboard. As I say, had no problems at all for the last 3 years apart from replacing the psu about a year ago.
Any ideas what could be wrong?

ankhev is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

read this sticky :

i had exact same problem with my old Athlon xp, i had to switch the back switch off and then back again to at least POST because i had RAM problems but stupid me kept on on reseting and restarting it thousands of times that i killed my mobo and left me a burn mark on the 20 pin power plug as well as my mobo as a souvenir.

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4

If your ATX connector ( That's the 20/24pin lead of your PSU ) isn't seated properly your computer won't pass the P.O.S.T test at boot, pressing reset or hard-braking ( turning on and off the PSU switch ) will by-pass P.O.S.T, but can do some real nasty damage to your machine. Try this.
ASMOTH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.