Someone Please HELPPPPPPP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default Someone Please HELPPPPPPP!

Hey, guys i build a costum computer and the motherboard i had before(intel mobo) i accidently "fried it" not really fried it but i didnt put the spacers behind the motherboard and it wouldnt work until i put spacers. The only problem with that motherboard was that the computer would turn on only from the psu & not from the front switch & the monitor wouldnt turn on. Now, I bought a ASUS motherboard & its the sameeee thing but only now everything turns on correctly but the moniter still wont turn on. Whats the deal here whats wrong? I am about finished working on this computer and about to throw it away.

Specs:
3.2ghz p4 ht
1024 mb ram
80gb western digital
ASUS P5RD1-VM
__________________

speedster0011 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

the monitor wont turn on or it is not geting a signal from the computer?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Are we talking "onboard video" or "Video Card"?
Specifics please...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default

It has onboard ATI video card. The monitor dosnt even turn on for it to say NO SIGNAL. i dont get this.
speedster0011 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

First of all, when you have onboard video, you don't call it a video card. It's a chipset on the motherboard.

Now, assuming the rest of your PC is booting properly, I suggest trying out this monitor on another PC to see if it's the monitor that's causing the problems. If you don't have another PC, take it to a friend's house or similar.

If it's not the monitor, I'll let the more knowledgable techies help you from there.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default

done that already. the monitor works. i tried 2 monitors and nothing.
speedster0011 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to kiIIxthexIights
Default

if your throwing it out ill take it =)
kiIIxthexIights is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 08:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default

ok i bought the adapter that lets me convert the 24 to 20 pin. Now same things. wtf is wrong. I am sick of it. The computer turns on says Identifitying IDE Drives for 10 seconds then shuts off. is 450w not enough?
speedster0011 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

have you just installed the minimal componets and tried to get into bios?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 12:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default

i unplugged the hard drive and tried it. a little better but still the processor fan hesitates and then goes on. im kinda thinking this psu ihave is pretty cheap and i should buy a new 550watt with 24 pin instead of using an adapter.
__________________

speedster0011 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.