Someone please help. RAM problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2007, 09:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Someone please help. RAM problems

I'm an idiot and I plugged a stick of ram into my computer that wasn't compatable. I removed it and all my computer does now is a steady beep. It won't boot, won't do anything. I tried reseating my original ram and powering everything up but all it does is beep. Did I destroy my RAM or my motherboard? What can I do?
asus a7333 motherboard
512 ram
athlon 1.67 ghz
(I attempted to upgrade my ram with an incompatible stick of ram.}
Please help!!!
__________________

adamussg is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

i might know how to fix it but i wont tell you since you posted this twice...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

Googling Asus motherboard beep codes and checking a couple hits at BIOSCentral and A to Z in computers, it appears that one long continuous beep still means a DRAM/memory error. (No surprise, right?) First try removing all the RAM, use the jumper to reset the CMOS (Warning! You'll loose all settings about things like your RAID setup if you have one and so on.), re-insert the known good one, and try again. Inserting RAM takes a surprising amount of force to get it to snap in. Make sure the (usually white or black) tabs that fit into the notches along the side of the RAM are in all the way. If they aren't already in, you should be able to push them in if the RAM is in all the way. If they aren't fitting into the notches, you probably don't have the RAM in as far as you think.

Also, read the sticky post at the beginning of this section.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

My RAm is definitly seated correctly. How do I reset the CMOS with a jumper? Never done that. I'm kinda a newbie?
adamussg is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

I've already tried unplugging the power to the motherboard. And removing and replacing the battery. Then I try reseating ram and booting. Nothing. Is it posible I fried the good ram I did have?
adamussg is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamussg View Post
How do I reset the CMOS with a jumper? Never done that. I'm kinda a newbie?
The CMOS reset is a jumper usually near the battery. Check your motherboard manual for the exact location. You remove the little disc battery, either put a jumper over the pins indicated for reset (or move the jumper from pins 1-2 to pins 2-3 for example), wait 20 seconds or so, move the jumper back, put the battery back in a start up. Read the sticky on resetting your BIOS at the top of this section.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 10:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

haha would be funny you took it off and lost the jumper XD.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 09:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

If you have more than one ram slot, make sure that you put the known good ram card into the primary ram card slot. (Usually the one closest to the processor) Some motherboards require this slot to be filled.
DANJAMAN is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 06:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

I have an asus as7333 motherboard. It has ultimate capacity of 3 gb ram just so you know. I removed battery and see the three pins located next to it. What do I hook up to them? What sticky note are you talking about? I am a retard.
adamussg is offline  
Old 05-02-2007, 06:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Someone please help. RAM problems

Okay... I found the sticky note. I have three pins located next to my battery. There is nothing hooked up to them. I bought a new stick of 512 mb ddr 2700 184 pin. I tried removing battery without the computer plugged in and waitng... then putting battery back in and reseating ram and trying to power up but nothing happens but that **** beep. I'm getting really frustrated. I have searched for a manual online but can't find one. I think I'm gonna call asus.
__________________

adamussg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM
Crashing and problems Bahamut Viruses, Spyware and Malware 3 04-22-2007 11:07 AM
TV Tuner problems tigerfootball05 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-21-2007 09:05 PM
No Vista Problems yet montdj Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-03-2007 02:48 AM
Harddrive problems Shafra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-29-2007 05:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.