Some quick help with 2 video cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2009, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Some quick help with 2 video cards

8800GT 512mb PCI-E
nVidia2 MX200 PCI


Previously I had my monitor and TV hooked up to the 8800gt.

I want to purchase a 2nd monitor, but still have my TV hooked up so I can watch movies on it.

I'm trying to install the mx200 with my TV plugged into it. I did it, but I was getting no picture on my monitor hooked up to the 8800gt.

So I took out the mx200 and booted up with only my monitor plugged into the 8800gt - it wasn't recognizing my 8800gt drivers anymore. I reinstalled those, and now everything is fine and dandy without the mx200 in.

Can I put that 2nd card in and have my TV and monitor running side by side together? Will this work when I buy another monitor to hook up to the 8800gt as well?

What did I do wrong that disabled the 8800gt?

I'll keep refreshing this page.
Thanks

-Spit
__________________

__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

What OS are you running? If it is Vista then it is highly unlikely that it will work as Vista doesnt like multiple Video Drivers installed and not work properly. You would need a SLi setup in order to do it properly.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

XP 32bit


Do I need sli?
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

Not necessary. But it still could be a conflict of drivers. You might have to install the PCI card first then the PCIe card. So that Windows will use those as the primary drivers.

I dont know for sure but i dont think you can run a PCIe and a PCI video card in a system without problems.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

So what should my next step be?


If you think this setup won't work, do I have any other options for getting 3 monitors without buying a new mobo? (mine only has 1 pci-e slot)


I was hoping that they would cooperate since they're both nvidia cards, but clearly the new card didn't like the 8800gt drivers
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

You could try installing the PCI card first and then the PCIe. But i cant guarantee that it will work. you might still come across driver issues with the PCI card when you try to access it.

As for getting 3 monitors on a system with only 1 GFX card. I thought there was adapters out there that could do this. But i might just be thinking of a KVM.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

What about getting a DVI splitter like this
Newegg.com - CABLES UNLIMITED PCM-2260 1 ft. Premium 12in. DVI Cable Splitter - Audio Video Cables

How would that work out?
Would the two monitors hooked up with the splitter have to be clones? Could I even set a different resolution for them?
__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

I honestly dont know. I have never used a splitter. But i would say they would have to be clones and same resolution. Since you are taking 1 signal and splitting it to 2 monitors. But that is just a guess.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 11:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

We need a tears smiley. I guess a frown will have to do for now.


__________________
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Some quick help with 2 video cards

Grab an evga usb monitor device like this:

EVGA | Products
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have a price question about video cards. IF06 System Upgrades 5 01-31-2009 06:58 PM
Video Upconverting software EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 09-25-2008 11:40 PM
Quick Question regarding Video Cards Pirate_bob7 System Upgrades 6 09-01-2008 11:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.