soldering without solder? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2016, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default soldering without solder?

hi, so last week i accidently pulled out the wire out of my headphone volume control. i ordered a soldering on ebay but i didnt do any research on soldering. i just realised now that i also need to buy solder . can i use the soldering iron to fuse the wire back on the volume control board without using solder?
__________________

__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaka100 View Post
hi, so last week i accidently pulled out the wire out of my headphone volume control. i ordered a soldering on ebay but i didnt do any research on soldering. i just realised now that i also need to buy solder . can i use the soldering iron to fuse the wire back on the volume control board without using solder?
No.

However, you could be cheap and try and use the solder already on the board (where is wire is broken not from another component lol).
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
No.
This.

Quote:
However, you could be cheap and try and use the solder already on the board (where is wire is broken not from another component lol).
Eh...I feel that'd be a bad idea to try lol.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
This.



Eh...I feel that'd be a bad idea to try lol.
lol ^^ I do it sometimes but it is a bad idea like you said
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Go old school and use blue tac.
It does work
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 08:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
W͂O̠̳ͨ̍̍̒̈́͛̕Ķ͎̠̱̰̓ͦĒ ̍̓ͦ
 
zaka100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 745
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Update:
Ok, I bought some solder from the local hardware shop and I soldered the wires and only burning one finger . The headset volume control lights came on but Windows said that the device was broken or something. I searched my problem online and I think I have soldered the wrong combination of wires. I'll try that and I will post if anything new happens.

Lol, I really need these headphones, atm I'm using some cheap £1 earphones with only one side working
__________________

My Build
CPU - AMD X4 860k @ 3.7ghz
GPU - Nvidia GeForce 780
RAM - 2x HyperX Fury 4gb
MOBO - MSI A78M-E35
SSD - 120gb Kingston Hyper X
HDD - WD 320gb
Steam: zaka100123
zaka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 12:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaka100 View Post
Update:
Ok, I bought some solder from the local hardware shop and I soldered the wires and only burning one finger . The headset volume control lights came on but Windows said that the device was broken or something. I searched my problem online and I think I have soldered the wrong combination of wires. I'll try that and I will post if anything new happens.

Lol, I really need these headphones, atm I'm using some cheap £1 earphones with only one side working
Yes, make sure it's the correct wires lol.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: soldering without solder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaka100 View Post
Update:
Ok, I bought some solder from the local hardware shop and I soldered the wires and only burning one finger . The headset volume control lights came on but Windows said that the device was broken or something. I searched my problem online and I think I have soldered the wrong combination of wires. I'll try that and I will post if anything new happens.

Lol, I really need these headphones, atm I'm using some cheap £1 earphones with only one side working
I suggest getting something like this to not burn your fingers again
http://www.amazon.com/Combo-Solderin.../dp/B0030DKSZG
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop? koolx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 03-22-2016 09:22 AM
Is it hard to solder? jester070993 Off Topic Discussion 11 11-11-2008 07:12 PM
No Solder Modchip w/swap mag 3 help needed alkaline_solo Sony Playstation 3 06-25-2005 05:59 PM
A good soldering iron Him Overclocking and Modding 7 05-23-2005 11:48 AM
[Dumb Question] CAT 5e and a Solder Iron Harper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 05-19-2004 08:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.