So it seems my video card is "faulty"....

Status
Not open for further replies.

iFargle

Linux / HPC / K8s SME
Staff member
I have been emailing BFG Tech about my GTX 285 (OC version) being unstable. They have determined it's the video card that's at fault (unlike the dude I talked to over the phone...) and say I should send it back to them.

I'm wondering if anyone has experience with BFGs return service. Good? Bad? How long does it take? I need this desktop to be running quite a lot, I can't stand a lot of down time.

Thanks for any replies

I have no experience with them, but have never heard anything negative about them either.

The process should go smoothly so long as you are nice and respectfull, have the card, box and packaging all in good condition, make sure all contents of the purchase are shipped back to them, have proof of purchase via a printed invoice from the site you ordered from and ship it to them as quickly as possible, at least a 2-3 service.

Also a good idea to put insurance on the package.

Alright. I still have my original box and packaging, as well as the original invoice for the order from Newegg :tongue: I keep everything.

Anyways I just emailed them back with all my information. We'll see what happens next.

On a side note, nice to see you again, Ste. It's been a while! You might not remember me under this pseudonym.

be sure to ask whether or not to send back the accessories (cables and such). Usually on an RMA you will get back just the card and not the stuff you sent back. That was my experience with Sapphire, and is probably the norm.

Alright, thanks for the heads up. This is the first problem I've had with a BFG card (I've had four before this one), so I'm pretty surprised at this whole incident. But I'm sure everything will be squared away soon.