So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Hey all!

Adding to my recent myriad of problems with my upgraded computer I think I may have fried my PSU.

As some of you may recall only one stick of my 2 GB's of memory was working. It was suggested to me that I should up the voltage from 1.8 -> 2.0 (The memory had a recommended range of 1.8-2.2). So I did this, and BAM it started after two tries. I then turned it off and rebooted it got to the BIOS screen and just froze... So I hit the power switch and booted it right back up only to find that the computer turns on for about a second or two before switching right the **** off .

Argh.

So I think the extra voltage was too much for my poor Antec Truepower 2.0 550W, but I want to make sure before I go out and by some beast of a power supply that it was indeed my power supply and not (sigh) my brand new motherboard or RAM.

Is there anyway I can identify the problem here?

Thanks in advance guys!
__________________

Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Try jumping the power supply, to see if it's defective.

To jump the power supply, disconnect it from the components, and just connect the case fans. Also disconnect the power cord from the outlet, and turn off the power supply button. Take a paper clip, and bend it into a U shape. Next, stick one end into the green pin or wire of the 24-pin main power connector. Then stick the other end into any black pin or wire, on the main power connector. Then turn on the power supply, to see if the fans spin. If they don't, something is wrong with the power supply.
__________________
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Wait when you say turn on the power supply, do you mean plugged into the wall and all or just hit the button without the plug in the wall :S
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Oh, sorry about that. Yes, plug it into the wall first, and turn on the power supply button.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Okay, just did the above and all the case fans turned on a-ok. Is that bad news or good news?
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

A truepower 550w should be plenty for that system....and since the Case fans turned on I suspect it's a motherboard problem.

Did you reset the CMOS?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Well I did what I thought resetting the CMOS was. I got this stanley knife thing and held it to the two CMOS pin things for a few second a number of times. Made no difference.

If it's the motherboard I might just kill someone.
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Okay, so I just ruled out the possibilty of RAM by taking my Dad's PC5300 RAM and chucking it in my computer, same thing happened :/.

So I guess it is either the power supply or the motherboard. Is there no way of telling which? I was told that the green - > black wire thing doesn't necessarily mean that the PSU is stuffed because the Antec 2.0's blow caps alot or something? Argh.
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

Progress Report #2: So I removed my PSU and hooked it up to another rig and everything booted up just fine, I'm posting to you now from it.

So I guess that leaves the motherboard as the chief trouble maker... Is there anyway to be sure of that though?

Just bought this mobo, not sure how I am going to swing getting it replaced seeing as I already got one stick of RAM replaced by the people who I bought it off and they know it was working.. Althought the RAM never worked, I could argue that it was because of the motherboard perhaps? Any other ideas?

Thanks guys!
Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 11:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: So... My PSU is fried (At Least I Think So)

If the PSU worked, and everything else, the culprit is most probably the motherboard.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM
Need PSU Suggestions lee42lee System Upgrades 1 10-05-2007 04:16 PM
Power surge, fried pc? Akubane Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-03-2007 06:51 PM
changing psu from power mac robina_80 Apple and Mac 1 09-28-2007 03:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.