Small Hard Drive Space - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 12:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default Small Hard Drive Space

I just installed window xp onto my system and followed all the instructions but when i check under the properties, it says that there is only 9.7gb of hdd space. 6.6gb of that is already used up. Did i do something wrong? If so, what do i do to fix it. My specs are in my sig.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

What file system did you choose to format the drives with, NTFS right? When you set up the RAID did it say that your new disc size is 240 gb?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Yes, i used NTFS and it came out to about 240gb (alittle smaller because of the actuall size but w/e). Do you have any idea what i should do? Thanks for the response.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 12:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

did you hit f6 when you first boot the xp disc and install the raid drivers with the raid floppy?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 12:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I see you found the other topic. Yes i installed both RAID drivers that came on the floppy. I also bought the drives OEM so they didnt come with anything. Could it be with the 48bit lba that you were talking about? Thanks for the help.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 01:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thebleakness
I see you found the other topic. Yes i installed both RAID drivers that came on the floppy. I also bought the drives OEM so they didnt come with anything. Could it be with the 48bit lba that you were talking about? Thanks for the help.
I have your mobo. load the last 2 or 3 drivers on that floppy. you don't see them. use the down arrow to pull them up. I got a seagate cd somewhere. let me find it
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

here. I couldn't find my cd to upload.

http://www.seagate.com/support/disc/utils.html
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 01:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

I remember seeing 5 drivers on the floppy when i installed the two required ones. I was following this guide and it never mentioned the other 3 non-required ones.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

those are probably the 2. I don't use a raid setup, but I use sata so I do mine differently. it shows a few driver and I know they one I pick aren't on the initaial screen.

maybe when you follow their direction and create that 10 gig partition and it screwed things up.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.