Slowwwwww bootup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Slowwwwww bootup

during bootup my computer sits at the windows logo screen for like 2 minuits, like 40 passes of the little blue bar. now a few days ago before this would happen it would boot up in about 5 passes of the bar. i dont know why this could be does anybody else?

also microsoft is telling me my copy of windows is no genuine when i know it is. i dont really care if they think im geinuine or not so i just click fix it later. could this be part of my problem?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

could be but is your msconfig cleared and have you installed any hardware latley?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yea msconfig is all good. but actually yeah, i installed another cd/dvd rw drive today. just kindof threw it in there.

lol 2 drives are running on one ide cable one on the master position and one on the slave. can you even do that? or is that just for hard drives. lol i diddnt really think about it, just kindof threw it in.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

some one else actually had this exact problem there was no solution for it really hold on let me find it. they had also just installed a new drive and it was causing it to slow down alot and the process bar of windows and when they put it in another machine i think it did the same thing.

EDIT: found it

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...highlight=slow
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

actually you know what it oculd be, the little jumper on the back, its in the master position while being plugged into slave i just relized that. let me try and fix it.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ok let me know if that works.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 117
Default

just letting you know, dvd burners seem to like being on slave in my runnings with the dvd-rom on master (thats how mine is)
__________________
Just another newbie at the moment.
A-mak is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

the dvd rom is now on slave and it diddnt help at all. im thinkin about just hooking a seperate IDE cable up to it and putting it in cable select mode.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

that could work. also make sure you have the latest firmware installed.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 12:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

the only thing thatworked was unpluging the dvd drive completely. dont know why. but i just boot up then plug it in after windows startup
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.