Slow FPS/Random Jumps'Glitching - Any ideas?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2006, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default Slow FPS/Random Jumps'Glitching - Any ideas?!

Installed Call Of Duty (Single Player) the first ever one Today, thought id give it a go, tried playing on it, its a nightmare, its playable if you like skipping and slowing down every 10seconds or when theres more than one person on the same screen, Anyways..

Heres my computer specs and what possible solutions i've tired;

CPU: Athlon 64 3400+
GPU: Geforce 6600GT 935/532
RAM: 1Gig

I've tired everything I can think of;

- Scanned my PC for Virus's/Malware/Spyware
- Updated DirectX
- Updated Graphics card drivers from Standard version to Beta
- Lowered every setting on the game
- Overclocked the card

- CPU Usage; Steady 20-30
- PF Usage; Stread 530

But yet it still seems to be glitching/skipping when it comes to parts in the game where theres alot of action taken place.

Only thing I can possibly think of is; Overheating?

If anyone can think of any possible answer to this or know any Call Of Duty and Geforce 6600GT Series not mixing, please let me know!

Thanks alot inadvance!

ApM is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

you dont have to go posting multiple threads, one is fine.

here's what i typed in the other one.

it might be, try setting ur gfx card down to stock settings.

Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes

first try setting it back to stock settings not over clocked. also the 6600 is a bit out dated my friend has that same card and it barley runs CS:S on all high setting without a bit of lag. try running 3dmark05 and see if your scores match up to people with your same card with close to your specs people enjoy showing off their scores so that shouldnt be to hard to make sure everything is running smoothly

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145

i am running the 6800 from xfx and just started playing call of duty and have no problems except the **** germans keep killing me
asus a8n sli premium
amd 64 venice 3800 2.4
xfx 6800gt
wd 80gb
2 512 cosair value ram
19in hw191d widescreen lcd
tomc102968 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.