slow cpu..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2006, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default slow cpu.....

i have an alienware(yea envy me but u dont have to tell me...) my brothers found some 1994 games and installed them and now my cpu goes really slow and the preformance is in the 95-100% range... i uninstalled everything but it still contnues to go slow altough slighty faster....
__________________

xboxh4ck3r is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 08:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

reinstall. also, what r the specs of the system? cpu, ram, hdd, etc, or jsut the model of the pc
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default

atx cpy, 2GB of ram, 230 GB samsung hdd, lightscribe cd drive, nvidia SLI, just that kind of stuff
xboxh4ck3r is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

spybot search and destroy, and if it still runs slow, run hijackthis, and post logfile. worst comes to worst, back ur stuff up, and reinstall, but before that, lets see if u got a virus or spyware, or something else that can lag that beast down
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default

what spybot should i use???
xboxh4ck3r is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default

ok never mind im not sure why i posted that but i got it
xboxh4ck3r is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default

also i may just be a moron but if its a 94 game then it would have to use an immulator like WoW16 or somethin i dunno i just thought that might have somethin to do with it, maybe im just dumb
__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default

no the games were for computer but just the insatlling of them doent belong on an alienware
xboxh4ck3r is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 34
Default

take system restore points so when that happens u can just run a system restore...
__________________

jeff00z28 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.