Slow boot, and shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default Slow boot, and shutdown

One of my old systems that I use occasionally takes for ever to boot and shut down, sometimes 1-3 Minutes to boot, and 5+ to shutdown.

AMD XP 2600+
Abit NF7-S Mobo
GeForce 4 MX400 64MB
Segate 60GB HD
1GB PC2700 DDR

Everything else runs totally fine from what I have seen. Is this a sign of a dying or bogged down hard drive? Because when I used to use the system as my main system I don't ever remember it taking so long to boot and shutdown. I don't use the system for anything other than getting on the net or writing a paper. And its loaded with Spyware, Virus, and Firewall Protection. Even though protection like that won't keep everything out, it should keep enough off that it shouldn't slow the system down like this. Any Ideas?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what have you done so far?
defrag, remove temporary files, make sure your hard drive is using an 80 wire IDE cable and not a 40 wire.
also make sure DMA is enabled

your sig is too big BTW, max is 8 lines normal size, 15 lines size 1 text
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I find that a reformat and reinstall every so often does wonders for the computer it will help with such problems.That is if you dont have hardware issues which you probley dont and if you dont mind starting over.I like to do it with my computers probably more often that most people but im a geek.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I have completely reformatted the system in the past, and it makes it a bit faster, but nothing really too impressive. Ill have to check the cable to the Hard Drive. The family member who uses the system when im not, is really anal about temporary internet files, and removes them nearly every day, but ill check on that.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.