SLI stops working ingame - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2011, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default SLI stops working ingame

Alright, so I bought a second gtx 285 off evga's bstock, which turned out to be a dud. They sent me another one, and it seemed to be working fine. I really wasn't playing games. I just saw that it was being recognized in the Nvidia control panel. After playing bf3, it stopped working, and my system no longer sees it. This is similar to what happened with the last one with bc2. Does anyone have any ideas on why this would be happening?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

Is the weight of the card causing it to sag? It may have a bad connection if its sagging.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

Actually, I think it is a little bit. Have you dealt with this issue before?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 10-02-2011, 05:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

I had a older setup that I had to prop up the card to keep it working.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

No, I was mistaken. It wasn't really sagging. I know I had it so that there was zero of this, and it still didn't work. I tried it lonesome, and monitor said no signal, so I guess it is dead. Last time this happened though the computer wouldn't even turn on. Could there be something in my system that is killing the card? It happens as soon as the card gets a real load. Like black ops won't do it, but the bf titles just seem to cause the cards to die. I mean, my original is doing fine. These are evga bstock cards, so they are recertified. I just think it is odd, I'd get two bad ones in a row.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 09:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

I don't buy b-stock major components. I can kill a handpicked item without any help from questionable components.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 10:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

Alright, well thanks a lot, Slay, for helping sort this out.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI stops working ingame

I really don't think I was much help.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Stops Working? thEdumBoNe Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 09-03-2006 10:43 PM
3ds Max stops working help PCNewbie Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-25-2004 07:39 AM
CD Rom Stops Working randomly Todd32 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-25-2004 12:10 AM
IE Stops Working! Musjunk22 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 07-21-2004 02:18 AM
3ds Max stops working help PCNewbie Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-18-2004 05:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.