SLI problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2011, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default SLI problem

Long story dumb, had someone I didn't know build my computer and got screwed.

Running three GTX275's without proper psu or processor...

Problem is when I take one out ( I removed the middle one ) the screen flickers (ONLY when playing games, never desktop or anything else) as if the refresh rate was out of whack. When I run all three in sli everything works fine (except for the heat buildup) But so far as I can tell no settings have been changed. I'm using a 32 in samsung tv as my monitor.

Please help.

PC Set up:

EVGAx58 motherboard

Intel 2.66 quadcore i7 900

3 GTX275

6 gb ram

Windows 7

Hope that all you need, if not let me know.

mikej345 is offline  
Old 06-02-2011, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: SLI problem


Insert the cards so they are lined up next to each other, not so there is a space in between. Go into BIOS make sure everything is dandy. Update drivers (if need be, always keep video card drivers up to date, as I'm sure you know)

Come back let me know if that helped!

Heater is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 07:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: SLI problem

What EVGA X58 mobo do you have?

What Power Supply do you have?
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: SLI problem

Your solution did work...but just cus i felt like it, I tried to leave a gap in the middle of the two card, and I got it to work. Think perhaps i forgot to reset the sli in the control panel the first time around. Thank you
mikej345 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with ASUS Modem Router, ADSL Cable problem GRANTA Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-06-2010 04:45 AM
windowns reinstall-video card problem-ram problem fidelitycrisis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-02-2006 04:25 PM
Software Problem or Hardware Problem or Both?? Djchrisz84 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-12-2005 11:42 AM
Problem loading on dark age of camelot...maybe a ram problem? LightingBird PC Gaming 0 03-08-2005 10:49 AM
Hard drive problem? or cable problem? untruehero Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-18-2004 07:56 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.