Slave harddrive Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to clere210
Default Slave harddrive Problem

I have a 160GB harddrive I use for dedicated storage. I had windows xp pro corp installed on my 120, and had the 160 as storage, had a few simple installers, and my videos on it. I just reformatted my 120 and put windows xp media center on it, and now it won't let me access my 160GB. Anyone have any idea why? Would the different OS matter even though its just a storage drive (Update: i tried it on a comp with xp pro corp, still same problem)? It won't let me change drive letters or do anything but delete the partition..and I have movies on the drive I need to save so I cant just format it.

Thanks
__________________

clere210 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i assume you get *access denied* errors , see this thread http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=98492
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 03:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to clere210
Default

no it doesn't say access denied, it just wont let me do anything with my HD. It sees it in disk management, but all the options are greyed out when i right click it there.
clere210 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

do you see its partitions in "my computer" , and if you do what message you get when your tryin to access it? , did you use some full hd encryption software on it?
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to clere210
Default

i cant see it in my computer, i can only see it in device manager/disk management...I've never put an OS on it or anything i always just stored **** on it and after I reformatted it didn't want to see it anymore. I have media center 2005 SP2
clere210 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.