Slave Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2007, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 57
Default Slave Drive

I have a slave drive. It worked perfectly when I had Linux, but I recently removed it after deciding to go back to Windows.

It's not showing up in 'My Computer', and I know it's there though. I went on Everex Home Edition and looked through Storage > Physical Drives.

It's there, but the partition type is 'Linux', not NTFS. Most likely because I had installed Linux on that hard drive once. How do I convert the partition to NTFS so it can show up? I want to be able to store files in it and move files in it too.

How do I do this?
__________________

xcryinginrainxx is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Slave Drive

Run>compmgmt.msc /s
Does it show up under Storage>Disk Management?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: Slave Drive

Yeah, it does.
xcryinginrainxx is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Slave Drive

Can you right click properties?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: Slave Drive

No. It won't let me.

Also it says Healthy Unknown Partition..


I deleted it and created an NTFS partition just now..
xcryinginrainxx is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Slave Drive

Boot off the windows cd and wipe it out.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 57
Default Re: Slave Drive

Okay, thanks, I got it.
__________________

xcryinginrainxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.