*Sigh* More Bluescreen Fun. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default *Sigh* More Bluescreen Fun.

So, its 1 week before exams and my laptop, ironically containing all my school information is getting blluescreens on start up. Its windows xp professional, NT?? i dont know...but i have to press CRTL + ALT + DEL then enter user/pass to log in. however just before that screen pops up, i get a nice fatty bluescreen. it says something about win32k.sys and then some other hardcore stuff that i cant read because my computer restarts before i can read it. im going to try and take a picture of the screen if i can, then ill post it.

EDIT: and yes, ive tried Safe Mode, same thing happens.

and heres the photo.

__________________

Mission is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Is it a Dell?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

Nope, its an IBM laptop.
Mission is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

So you can't get into windows at all? Did it come with an XP cd? I had to fix my friends Dell, he had the same problem but his restore stuff was on a seperate partition. If it did come with an XP CD run a repair or re-install but don't format as you will lose all your data. You can also try pressing F8 and hitting the "Last known good" configuration.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

Nope, didnt come with a disk..and the use last config or w/e doesnt work.
Mission is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Phone tech support and ask them how to use the restore function. Then go from there. Be careful, the restor utility might erase all your data.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

hehe..then i kill myself! because everything i need is on it lol..anyways...thanks for trying
Mission is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I have the same problem with another computer, trying to install an XP upgrade from win98.

I'm formating the HDD (again!), and then I'm going to see if I can do a fresh install of XP without using win98.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well there are programs you can get to recover formatted data. Just google it.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.