shut down at windows "welcome" screen - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2008, 12:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

hmmm. i wish i could have a Log stored of all my temps when i play gaemsso i dont have to wswitch back and look. that way when it shuts down i jsutreboot and look at the temp logs to see what went on.

I was up at 2:45 this morning drawing with my tablet. and it seemed to be fine. I wake up this morning at 11:50 and its shut down. I notice this in the event log


There are times from 1:30 to 2:40 something. and they seem liken ormal activities because i was using hte pc at the time. but there was no logs from 2:40 up untill 6:23.... obviously i wasnt up at the time. This seems to be the point of when it shut down because at 11:52 is when i got up and turned my pc back on and is when i started to get logs again.

heres the info for what happened at 6:23







Thankyou all for the help



OK what happened this time was that i was just on msn and firefox.... and loading up photoshop elements 6.0 and it just shuts down....this is becoming a real nuisence. I opened my pc up grounding myself and felt hte HS to see if it was hot... nothing was REALLY hot excepet for my northbridge. I tried to restart and it got all my icons loaded up and had all my startu p programs running and then the infamous windows error sound. I minimize everything to see what it is and in the header of the error message said TBIA and under it it said something about a Kshell error. Not sure what that means but i do believe it might involve me reinstalling windows.....
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 06:44 PM   #12 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

The sptd error you got what does it say? If I'm right it should say communication was lost with your hard drive. Try changing your SATA or IDE cable.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 08:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnOfDoom View Post
hmmm. i wish i could have a Log stored of all my temps when i play gaemsso i dont have to wswitch back and look.
Rivatuner has such monitoring and logging capabilities. It also has on-screen display, so you can see in real time what your temps are in game.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 09:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen



Here is hte properties of the Sptd

i've noticed that every time it shuts down one of those errors occurs about around the same time it does shut down... Intriguing


CrazeD:

Thats awesome I'll play around with it tonight and see about using that. thanks
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:12 PM   #15 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

I know I work with clients computers all the time and the sptd error is one that comes up quite a bit. Most times it turns out to be a hard drive issue.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

also 93c is way too hot no matter what card you have. i would do something about that.
also check NB temps. my old nforce 570's NB ran pretty hot.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 11:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
I know I work with clients computers all the time and the sptd error is one that comes up quite a bit. Most times it turns out to be a hard drive issue.
Hmmm does this mean that the HDD is failing/dying? If so i need to know soon for i have important data on here that i need. and if it does die i dont want to have to take it to Geek squad to get a Platter transfer.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 01:59 AM   #18 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

No no try the cable change first man.

You clean you video card out?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 02:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

Yea its been dusted out. I'll change the cable before i go to bed tonight. Im on an old IDE HDD set up so the cable might be twisted around or something of the like.

going all sata on my next build. its much cleaner looking.

oh btw i've been up and running since 5 pm but i've also been staying out of games.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 02:16 AM   #20 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: shut down at windows "welcome" screen

did you check to see if the fan on you video card is still working.

only reason i say this is...i have had a fan just die on one of my cards in the past. it wasnt a pretty sight.

those temps are very high. 79c idle eek
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Windows shut down - blue screen - physical dump Kilawatt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 12-05-2008 10:16 PM
bloody keyloggers oldstoat HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 10-22-2008 02:12 AM
Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer xXxexpertxXx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 33 05-19-2008 12:13 PM
Choose How To Boot Windows Screen Loop westy159 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-23-2008 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.