shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2009, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory?

why is this ? I've noticed on several programs and windows functions my video memory is listed at "2.9gb" when it's only 896MB. Kinda confusing. The only way I could see this happening if RAM was being added onto the video memory..but I haven't done anything like that...

anyone else see anything like this?
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory?

32 bit OS RAM limitation.
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64)

32 Bit OS's combine your System RAM with your Video RAM. It then subtracts 500Mb-750MB for device mapping. From there depending on your Video Card, if it has faster RAM, it will also subtract that from what the system can use as well.

This is a known issue with 32 Bit OS's.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory?

does GPU-Z show this?

and mak i think he is running a 64 bit OS
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory?

Sorry no mention of the OS so many times it is 32 Bit which is why i stated what i did.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 07:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory?

i haven't tried GPU-z...and yes, it is 64bit :]

EDIT: just checked GPU-z and it showed the correct amount. Dunno why the other things show it at 2.9gb..weird. and it's a random number too. 896mb of video ram...like 6gb of RAM so where does 2.9 come from?
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: shows gtx 260 as 2.9gb memory?

2.9GB might be your pagefile.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 260 core 216 worth it to upgrade? 8800 GTX comparison Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 86 12-04-2008 09:09 AM
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
New GPU (gtx 260?) ThirdLeft152 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-02-2008 05:35 PM
GTX 260 or 4870? Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-09-2008 06:04 PM
Help with GTX 260 Mufasa99 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-26-2008 12:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.