should I just reformat to fix this???

Status
Not open for further replies.

emptymush

Solid State Member
ok, so I've posted in the past about a nearly identical problem, where my computer [laptop] stops recognizing the external harddrive. I bought a 300gig external, brand new to back up the stuff that was on the first external hdd, and then the new one, today, all of a sudden isn't working. When I say it isn't working, I mean that windows says it isn't formatted and do I want to format it. The old one quit showing up in windows, which makes recovery difficult. I have partition magic and some partition repair tools. I'm curious if I just reformat, will that solve these problems so that my pc won't just suddenly stop recognizing drives? PLEASE HELP!!! This is very frustrating as I'm a student and have all of my medical, tax, etc. records on these drives and need to recover the data as well as just have the **** machine work right. It was doing fine until today, and it has done almost the exact same thing in the past couple months which leads me to think that maybe it isn't the external drives, but maybe something with my laptop? Any thoughts, advice, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

also, the device is being recognized in the "device manager" however it isn't showing up in the "my computer" side of things. please help!!!

If it's usb/firewire connection - just plug your drives to any other computer and see it they work. If they do, than see if you can see partition(s) there are access them. If you still can - come back to your problematic computer, plug the drives, and launch disk management utitlity (part of windows) [administrative tools->computer management->disk management]
next actions depends on what you see there.

Your USB port may be faulty. Not completely gone, but going in and out.

Also, the connectors from the drives may be faulty.