Should of acted earlier. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2009, 05:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Should of acted earlier.

Ok I know i should of acted earlier but, i didn't so here it goes. I have a toshiba satellite something or the other but toshiba released a bios update through the service station sometime around oct. So i downloaded it and thats when my problems started. I don't know if it is a coincidence or not but shortly after i started to experience crashes, more appropiatley the bsod. Followed by a reboot. I didnt write down the errors i know my bad. I know it refered to a windows process unexpectedly ending or missing (possibly just a generic message). But i ignored this problem and drove on. It would crash every 3 or 4 days. Then it became more frequent. I recently updated all my drivers using 3dpchip to include video, audio, motherboard and cpu drivers. Now my computer will not run in anything but safe mode. Even in safe mode it sometimes freezes. It will load windows very slowly and then freeze shortly after. It makes me think there is a memory or ram problem. I ran the windows memory diag and repair tool which, helped marginaly. I also restored to the earliest date i could which was before the driver updates but not before the bios update. As a side not the computer ran fine after the driver updates for a couple days before it completly crapped out. I used all of the windows tools to include the defrag which, frooze somewhere through and i had to hold the power button down to reboot it,and all the chkdisc and system scans. My virus scan also freezes around 25% complete (kaperskys spelling?). I dont know how to enable the drivers in safe mode to check to see if it is one of them. And i used msconfig to turn off all unesecary or unknown startup apps. I also used the registry checker to fix any problems there. All of the scans and checks returned no problems and errors. Another reason i think it is the memory or ram is as i said everything in safe mode runs slow and freezes briefly sometimes but also, the repair computer bootup option will freeze, hit f8 when booting. Any suggestion besides drop-kicking it in the face are welcome (i already tried that). I do have internet acess through safe mode with networking. I also looked in the event viewer and the problems and solutions app but no errors get reported. BTW I am stuck in Iraq so it may take time to reply to peoples post. Thanks in advance.
__________________

disorder is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should of acted earlier.

Need to know what version of Windows you are running to be of any help.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Should of acted earlier.

Oh yeah sorry Its Vista 64 sp2...intel core dou processor, 4mhz speed?, 3gb of ram, intel 4500 graphic chipset, sound card is realtek i think. 200 gig hard drive about half full, and kaperskies (spelling?) antivirus up to date. again thanks in advance.
disorder is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Should of acted earlier.

To me it sounds like the BIOS update is the root of your problems. If possible i'd try to go back to an older version. Preferably the one you had previously. Of course it's possible you have multiple issues but we'll cross that bridge if we come to it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Should of acted earlier.

Check out how to do a inplace upgrade for Windows Vista. It is the only way to do a repair install and still keep your data.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't restore to an earlier date! barbp Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-24-2008 08:43 AM
Vista SP1 fryc86 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-10-2008 02:36 AM
Lost DVD/Cd drive....thought I posted earlier??? lpennington Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-05-2008 12:30 PM
[VISTA] Windows Update error 80004002/SP1 Internal Error 0x800703F0 ohgodhalp Microsoft Windows and Software 12 03-30-2008 12:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.