Sharing files between Desktop/Laptop & Laptop to Desktop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2006, 07:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Sounds to me like you have a firewall blocking the connection, can you disable mcafee briefly to see if thats doing it?

See if you can ping one machine from the other... open the run box and type cmd, then type ping xxx.xxx.x.x where the x's are the ip of your second machine.

You say your laptop is wireless, does it connect to a WAP on the router or a wireless card in the desktop?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 03:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

my laptop has wireless card but my laptop is connected to my desktop. My desktop is connected direct to my router LINKSYS....
I tried to do the Ping and is alright...0% loss

I dont dont what is wrong.

i will try disable mcafee briefly to see then!!!
maybe...
__________________

Rogerio is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 03:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rogerio
my laptop has wireless card but my laptop is connected to my desktop. My desktop is connected direct to my router LINKSYS....
How is your laptop connected? use the wireless!!

If not get an ethernet cable and connect to the router then run the wizard! And like I said before configure the firewall for filesharing if its not windows firewall!!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

my laptop has wireless card into it!!! the windows firewall is enable and mcaffee too!!! i need both?
Rogerio is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rogerio
my laptop has wireless card but my laptop is connected to my desktop. My desktop is connected direct to my router LINKSYS....
What did you mean by this then????? I think we speak two different languages or something.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 11:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

Thank you everyone....i got this time....finally..haha...

Thank you again!!!
Rogerio is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 07:46 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rogerio
Thank you everyone....i got this time....finally..haha...

Thank you again!!!
What was the problem in the end?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 02:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

My firewall was the problem....
Thank you Mr coffee...
Rogerio is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Since now you have the best firewall possable(Your router) you don't need a stand alone software firewall. A router plus windows built in firewall are all you need. And like I said windows firewall plays nice with your home network.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

Thank you Fdude for always reply me....
Tnank you a lot
__________________

Rogerio is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.