severe slowdown after 15 seconds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2005, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Default severe slowdown after 15 seconds

Hi I just reinstalled my computer with xp sp1.(long story) but basically im trying to run battlefield 1942. Everything is working fine, but when i start up battlefield, the game works good for about 15 seconds and then it chugs down to nothing. Even if i am quick enough to go through the menus and start a game, the game itself will run ( at lowest settings for everything) and i might even get a shot or two in, but then the framerate drops to about one frame per 2 seconds. My hardware is pretty antique. I have an 800mhz athlon (slot a) k7m board, 64mb radeon 7000 vid card, 384mb RAM. Ive got more memory and an overclocked 750 as well but i want to see if itll run on the bare minimum, and so far it seems like the computer CAN run BF but it just bogs down. I will be upgrading soon but I was wondering what could cause my problem. Thanks for any help you guys can give, im still learning!

diablos220 is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Mr. Switch's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch

just reinstalled my computer with xp sp1.(long story)
that tells me that something went wrong with the install, so reformat again and install sp 1 and 2, and try bf1942 again.

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6

assuming the o/s is alright, is there anything else that could cause this problem? Other programs run fine, and gta2 doesnt slow down. I know that doesnt use as much juice but is it normal that a game would run fine for a bit then just slow down, it stil works but really slow.
diablos220 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

hmm... isnt BF1942 an online game?? maybe you just have a crappy connection?
other than that i say as said above and reformat.. or maybe even just uninstall and reinstall BF
Static_11 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 10:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6

BF has online play but its got a campaign mode as well. I wont be playing it online because ive got dial up ill try reformatting and see if that helps.
diablos220 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
hikaricloud's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220

if you are using a 64mb card, that might be the problem...doesnt BF have a min requirement of 64mb? that might be your problem.

just because it's the minimal requirement, doesnt mean it will run good. hell, microsoft says the min requirement for XP is 64mb RAM...with 128mb recoomended. and i'll tell you, 128 is horridly slow with XP, and i have never seen 64mb work. so if you have a higher vid card, use that.
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6

The minimum is 32mb, I had a 16mb card originally and BF wouldnt even initialize. So i bought my radeon 7000. I couldnt find a 2x agp compatable card with higher ram. My board is so old and i dont want to spend a lot of money on it because it will be my back up comp when i upgrade. Im sure im just barely on the threshold of running BF. I added 128mb of ram (512 total) and that helped my slowdown a bit, now it takes about 20 minutes before my computer slows to a crawl. I put my 750 cpu o/c to 900 and am running a program to test stability. I dont know what else to try. I dont have another video card and i dont want to buy more vintage parts... Does anyone know of some benchmark programs or demos i can use to test my comps speed and stability? im using the torture test of prime95 and i havent gotten any errors but I dont know if its a good test or not.
diablos220 is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 12:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

Sry but looking at your specs i dont believe you can play Bf2....

Esp: recommended is 1gb ram and min is 512mb. That video card is not supported.

Guys with 6600gts have problems playin that game.
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 01:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6

im playing Battlefield 1942 Anthology. its bf 1 with road to rome expansion and secret weapons.

500mhz or faster
128mb+ RAM
8x+ cd rom
2.8gb+ HD
DirectX 8.1 compatable video card (32mb or more)

my system:

512mb RAM
52x cd writer
2x 80 gig ata HDs
DirectX 9.1c
Radeon 7000 64mb

I should be ok right?
diablos220 is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136

You’ve probably got your video settings in BF 1942 set too high. The default settings after installation are set to high quality and 800 x 600 resolution. By the specifications of your computer that you posted I would recommend the video settings set to low quality. I remember back in the day when I first got BF 1942. My AMD Duron 1.2GHz with 256MB DDR RAM and a GeForce 2 MX video card and I had to play it at 800x600 in low quality settings. If changing the quality settings to low still gives you speed problems then try 640 x 480 resolution. Another thing is what sort of processor do you have ?
I sure hope it’s an Athlon or a Pentium III not a Celeron. If it is a Celeron or worse yet one of those VIA chips then that would probably be your problem.

Anyways good luck.

iceware is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.