Setting up dual monitors: WindowsXP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2006, 06:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default Setting up dual monitors: WindowsXP

So I've got these two monitors plugged into my card, right? And I know the computer "sees" them, because if I unplug my second monitor, it gives me the old "NO SIGNAL DEVICE UNPLUGGED" screen. And when I reboot, the boot and post screens show up on both monitors. But then the OS loads, and the second monitor just goes to sleep. In the display properties >>> settings tab, it's showing the monitor as plugged into my onboard graphics, I think. But it's actually plugged into my NVidia 5200. I can't verify that, though, because it shuts off. Any ideas?

saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 07:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner

Oh thanks... I'll try that. But I'm NOT using a "secondary graphics adapter" or whatever they called the graphics card: I've got them both in ONE card.
saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


Do you have the nvidia drivers installed?

If so, then go to Control Panel > Display > Settings Tab > Advanced button > Click on the GeForce FX 5200 Tab > On the left you should see something like Multiple Displays, or Displays...

Make sure that your secondary display is active here, and that all the settings are correct.

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner

Ok, thanks, that should work... I'll try it when I get home. I had missed the advanced button.
saxofoner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.