Setting up dual monitors: WindowsXP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default Setting up dual monitors: WindowsXP

So I've got these two monitors plugged into my card, right? And I know the computer "sees" them, because if I unplug my second monitor, it gives me the old "NO SIGNAL DEVICE UNPLUGGED" screen. And when I reboot, the boot and post screens show up on both monitors. But then the OS loads, and the second monitor just goes to sleep. In the display properties >>> settings tab, it's showing the monitor as plugged into my onboard graphics, I think. But it's actually plugged into my NVidia 5200. I can't verify that, though, because it shuts off. Any ideas?
__________________

saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 10:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...238886&sd=tech
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 08:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default

Oh thanks... I'll try that. But I'm NOT using a "secondary graphics adapter" or whatever they called the graphics card: I've got them both in ONE card.
saxofoner is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Do you have the nvidia drivers installed?

If so, then go to Control Panel > Display > Settings Tab > Advanced button > Click on the GeForce FX 5200 Tab > On the left you should see something like Multiple Displays, or Displays...

Make sure that your secondary display is active here, and that all the settings are correct.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to saxofoner
Default

Ok, thanks, that should work... I'll try it when I get home. I had missed the advanced button.
saxofoner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.