Serious Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default Serious Problem

Serious as in my WHOLE computer is mesed up!

I was just doing my regualr thing, running programs and stuff, and I had installed a few which needed reboot, but clicked reboot later. So finnally i wanted to use some of the programs, so I rebooted. First it loaded the very first part where it has the Run Setup F8, then it said DELL (what I have) then it started the windows XP loading screen, but shortly after that, a Blue full screen apears, with a font that scares people who know its a basic computer error saying:
Missing File: "/systemroot/system32/config/SOFTWARE"
And something about contacting technical support (so I did) then a message saying:
"Begginging dump of memory.
Dumping complete."
Something close to that
__________________

jacfalcon is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

Someone told me that I should back up everything, and reformat my computer... but that kinda takes a long time, expecially when there's about 40 Gigs on here...
__________________

jacfalcon is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I NEED HELP!
jacfalcon is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 77
Default

Appears that you installed something bad, or inappropriate for your system.
This is what you need to do:
When windows starts, press F8, than choose "Safe Mode", and if it doesn't work, choose "Last known good configuraton"
If in either of these 2 options you manage to boot up, uninstall/delete the stuff that you installed b4 the problem.
junglemike is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 02:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

load up in safe mode and restore to your most recent restore point.

one of you registry hives is corrupt, restoring will replace it with a backup version.

if for some reason you cannot enter safe mode, then boot from your XP cd and perform a repair installation (note, press R the second time your are prompted to, NOT the first time).
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

It wont let me load to safe mode, it glitches before that.
jacfalcon is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Does it throw the error before giving the option of booting in safe mode, or WHILE booting in safe mode? To boot in safe mode, you hit F8 BEFORE windows starts to load.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

do you have an XP installation cd? If so then try the repair install, it should leave all your files and programs intact but hopefully fix the corruption of your regisrty hive.

1) Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.

2) When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below

Code:
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
   Windows XP to run on your computer:

   To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

   To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

   To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.
3) Press Enter to start the Windows Setup.
To setup Windows XP now and Repair Install , press ENTER. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".

4) Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.

5) Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, END setup.

6) Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.

Source
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

No, I'm gonna reformat, cause a lot of people have looked at my comp, and said there was some... bad for my computer type stuff, and it would just be convenient to reformat.
__________________

jacfalcon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.