Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2015, 11:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to HeeRoMaKi Send a message via MSN to HeeRoMaKi
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Just to add as well, I can only RMA something if I do it by tomorrow, so this is the last night I can test anything because I'm just going to RMA the PSU at this point and pray that's whats wrong. If you can think of me testing anything else please let me know. I'm on for another hour or two.
__________________

HeeRoMaKi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 11:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Hi! I'm very sorry for interfering with your thread. I don't know what happened to S0ULphIRE
I guess I should have minded my own business. It looks like you know what you're doing.
I didn't mean to steep on toes. I hope the PSU is what's causing your problems.
I'm sorry I couldn't read and decipher all your info you posted. Well done!! I'm sure you will get-er-done!
Gary!
__________________

donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 11:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Sorry, super tied up at work at the moment. I'll be back on in an hour or so, if I think of anything else I'll post up!
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 11:39 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to HeeRoMaKi Send a message via MSN to HeeRoMaKi
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by donetao View Post
Hi! I'm very sorry for interfering with your thread. I don't know what happened to S0ULphIRE
I guess I should have minded my own business. It looks like you know what you're doing.
I didn't mean to steep on toes. I hope the PSU is what's causing your problems.
I'm sorry I couldn't read and decipher all your info you posted. Well done!! I'm sure you will get-er-done!
Gary!
I wish/hope. It took me 5 years to save for this damn PC.. (i'm quiet poor) and now that I could finally build a new one I.. ran into all these issues. It's been nothing but drama/stress ever since I bought it. but this isn't the place for my sob story I guess! Thanks for at least trying to help. It's more then most people do.
HeeRoMaKi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 11:44 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Hi! You are very welcome. Don't give up yet. You will get-er-done my friend!
Gary!
PS I have a cheap RoseWill power tester! I have only used it one time. LCD Power Supply Tester RTK-PST
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/1915427...chn=ps&lpid=82
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 11:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to HeeRoMaKi Send a message via MSN to HeeRoMaKi
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Sorry, super tied up at work at the moment. I'll be back on in an hour or so, if I think of anything else I'll post up!
Thanks. I'll sadly only be awake for another hour and 15mins. But i'll keep checking in. I'll be giving up tomorrow though to RMA the PSU. If it turns out to be the Mobo.. I don't know what I'm going to do. ; ;
HeeRoMaKi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 12:08 AM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

OK. Back. Typing post now

If you think it's possibly the PSU at fault, you can try meshing the PCs together. Leave your old PC all wired up etc, but then take the 6/8 pin power cords for the graphics card and plug them into the card while it's still installed in the new PC. Make sense? The new PC is exactly the same as it always is, but power to the card is coming from your old PC.

I doubt it's the PSU though

Btw, just double checking here - you installed the new motherboard's chipset drivers yes?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 12:13 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to HeeRoMaKi Send a message via MSN to HeeRoMaKi
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
OK. Back. Typing post now

If you think it's possibly the PSU at fault, you can try meshing the PCs together. Leave your old PC all wired up etc, but then take the 6/8 pin power cords for the graphics card and plug them into the card while it's still installed in the new PC. Make sense? The new PC is exactly the same as it always is, but power to the card is coming from your old PC.

I doubt it's the PSU though
I don't .. get how that'd work sadly no. I don't know how i'd be able to test things that way? but then again a friend built the pc not me. I don't think i'd get the wires to reach from one pc to another either. Since I cannot take out the powersupply out of the old case as it's embedded.

and if not the PSU what could it be? never thought a new PC would be so depressing.
HeeRoMaKi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 12:25 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

My money would be on the motherboard rather than the PSU to be honest. The 660 isn't a power hungry beast at all, and your single 12v rail should handle it with ease. Though I guess if it's partially damaged and outputting a dirty voltage (i.e. fluctuating or inconsistent power out) then it *could* cause some issues? Again my money would be on the mobo before I suspected the psu

What I meant re the power cables is take your OLD pc, unplug the 6-pin power cord that goes into the graphics card, and try to plug that into the 660 in the NEW pc. Usually you have to put the cases right next to each other to get it to reach, be creative haha
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 12:26 AM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: Serious hardware issue can't figure out what/why!?

Quote:
Btw, just double checking here - you installed the new motherboard's chipset drivers yes
?
Sorry! I'm out of my league, but this is a very important question IMHO ! I'll be still now!!
Gary!
__________________

donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! I can't figure out why I am getting this tfhummel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 07-15-2013 10:39 AM
Serious recurring problem we simply cannot figure out AlexanderSinclair Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-24-2010 07:34 PM
Family PC is SOO slow - can't figure out why Quintox Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 06-06-2007 08:24 AM
Very Serious Problem with my comp. Serious Hardware Problem. Zyzyoro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-19-2006 10:40 PM
Please help! Comp running slow and I can't figure out why PizzatheHut06 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 08-30-2004 05:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.