Serious game performance issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default Serious game performance issues

Where do I start?

Lately when I've been playing games, the graphic performance has been nothing short of attrocious... It's to the point now where even the simplest of games (by that I mean Deus Ex standards) are struglling to play without looking like they're under a frame rate limiter.

I have tried lowering the graphics level to the absolute minimum with no success - even at 640x480 the gameplay is exactly the same. I would have thought that my memory, CPU power and graphics card combined should counter the graphic detail of newer games, but it seems not.

Can anyone help me?


System Specs:

HT Intel P4@3.4GHz (Laptop)
1024MB DDR400 RAM
256MB ATI Radeon 9700
Dual 60GB 7200RPM HDD running Raid-0
__________________

Silent_Octave is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Default

I have a Radeon and I have some serious problems on games as well. Drivers would be my first guess. Try Omega Drivers.
__________________

TheMayorsCronie is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Time to dump that card!!!! Nvidia 6600gt's are not outrageously expensive. I, within tthe last 6 months, bought a 6800GT, and it was worth every penny! It is nice being able to play any game at decent settings wihtout being FPS hogtied!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Time to dump that card!!!! Nvidia 6600gt's are not outrageously expensive. I, within tthe last 6 months, bought a 6800GT, and it was worth every penny! It is nice being able to play any game at decent settings wihtout being FPS hogtied!
Its a laptop. You can't.


I would start off with new drivers or alternative drivers like TheMayorsCronie said. Post back results.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Make sure you have no background programs running when playing. Check for viruses and spyware etc.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Silly question, but do you have 3D excelleration activated on your hardware and on Full? I know I had an install of Windows 2000 Server that initially installs without Hardware 3D exceleration activated. Can't remember exactly how to do it, but you can google it and find out.
StoneUSA7 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Alright, downloaded the latest Omega drivers (which, incidentally, I never knew existed - good pickup there!) and installed them but it seems to have had no impact...

I checked my 3D acceleration and my windows settings from control panel has it on full. My advanced display settings for the card, however, I have set to 'balanced' (midway between 'high graphics' and 'high performance') so that it doesn't try to get too graphics intensive during gameplay. I've also tried setting this to low but to no avail.

I've also scanned for spyware and viruses with a variety of programs with no significant effect. Could it be a problem with something OTHER than my graphics card?
__________________

Silent_Octave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.