Self Power ON after shutdown - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2010, 12:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

The problem presists also if all wake on LAN/alarm features are disabled in BIOS. also the AC back state is set to "stay off".
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

Longshot...but you could try disconnecting your power switch from the F_panel header to see if your switch is faulty.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 03:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

I tried to boot to a live CD of Knoppix Linux, and shutdown from there, to cut off whether it iswindows problem.

And sadly it turn back on, even though it was other OS this time.

Seems like it is hardware or BIOS related.
Tomorrow i'll check the front pannel connectors stuff. I hope it is not the mobo wanting rma...
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

Yesterday I opened a PC, disconnected all front panel connectors, manually reset the CMOS by Mobo switch (in case software reset from BIOS was not enough), and... it WORKED!!! Then I assembled all together back, connected front panel - all good.

Today the issue happened again the power loss accured in the house, while PC was booting and later on the issue got back. But, by clearing CMOS by mobo button is seem like all that was needed for he fix. I returned all BIOS settings to regular that I used (XMP, AHCI...) - all working fine now.

Thanks everyone for trying to help anyway :-)
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 11:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

Have you recently installed LIBUSB using the hacks for 64 bit by chance? My computer started doing that after I did all that. Everytime I go to shut down it reboots instead.
__________________
OPTIMUS PRIME
AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE OC'd 3.6ghz - 4GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600
30GB OCZ Vertex SSD - 500GB WD Green - Antec Earthwatts 650w PSU
ATI Radeon 4650 - ASRock M3A770DE Mobo - Chieftec Dragon DX-01 Case
InsaneJester17 is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 12:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

I think the 3.3v battery on your motherboard may be going bad for some reason -.-
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 04:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Re: Self Power ON after shutdown

Nope, InsaneJester17, never done anything related to LIBUSB.

Maybe it is battery related.

On my opinion. since it occures after some sort of AC power fail, I think that it cause some reboot flags in the BIOS registers to stuck at certain state, until battery voltage supply is reset, clearing the stuck data.

If it will reappear too much I'll consider to replace the battery though. Also having UPS is a good idea, but no budget on it for now.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide Ste System Upgrades 2 12-12-2009 09:30 PM
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Antec Launches Continuous Power Facts Website Osiris New Technology and Products 0 09-02-2009 10:25 AM
Power Supply compatability and question. nick0530 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2009 01:37 PM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.