Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2010, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible

Hey all!

I'm having trouble with a newly bought DVD writer. If I start my computer it says Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible, Press F4 to resume. (it gives 1 short beep with that)

My setup is:
- Primary Master: harddisk 1
- Primary Slave: DVD reader
- Secondary Master: harddisk 2
- Secondary Slave: DVD writer (NEW)

If I look in my BIOS under Advanced -> IDE configuration it says what my setup is with all 4 of them listed. But if I look in BOOT -> CD-ROM Drives then the DVD writer isn't there..

If my computer is booted up. My DVD writer doesn't appear in 'this computer' or anywhere.
The only way I CAN get it to work is to 'search for hardware' BUT normally this is the way the DMA settings should be:
harddisk 1: DMA 5
DVD reader: DMA 2
harddisk 2: DMA 2
DVD writer: (well not listed but SHOULD be DMA 2 if I'm correct)

But like I said this would be under normal circumstances. Well it isn't if I 'search for hardware'. (I don't have to install the DVD writer) it becomes usable (untill I shutdown or restart my computer) BUT the DMA settings change immediately:
harddisk 1: DMA 5 (stays the same)
DVD reader: DMA 2 (stays the same)
harddisk 2: PIO Mode (changes)
DVD writer: PIO Mode (changes)

Because of that I can't use my second harddisk like I normally do (instead of 2 or more tasks it can only do 1, else my computer lags) and I don't think I can use the full speed of my DVD writer either (haven't tried to write anything).

Is there something that can fix this? I don't know if my explaination made sense if not just ask to make it more clear, I'll try then :P
__________________

Balera is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible

Ya. i want more about your pc config and OS specifications.
it may be non support of mainboard..
__________________

__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible

Matt, this is BIOS level, has nothing to do with OS.

Have you tried taking off your old DVD Reader? It looks like you have your pins right.

Might want to try putting your hard drives on Primary, DVD drives on Secondary

Make sure the cable is on tight. It may detect it, but not apply it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible

OS: Windows XP Home (SP3)

Haven't tried taking off the old DVD reader or putting the setup like you said (HD's primary, DVD Drives secondary).

The cables are in like they should (tight) because I've checked & double checked them.

What I did try allready (regarding the setup) is: switching the secondary master/slave settings (harddisk 2: slave, DVD writer master) but that didn't work also because then it didn't gave an error but it didn't load my secondary harddisk.

I'll try to put the HD's on primary and the DVD drives on secondary now, if it works or not I'll get back to this thread thanks for helping.


edit: now that I'm saying that, heh could it be that my IDE cable/ribbon is broken?

edit2: THANKS MindoverMaster!!!! It worked (HD's are now both on the primary IDE and DVD Drives on secondary IDE) I've tried a bunch of things before I did this and it's the only thing that worked, even better my second HD is now running in DMA 5 instead of 2 (DVD drives both DMA 2) again thanks!
Balera is offline  
Old 01-29-2010, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Secondary slave drive - ATAPI incompatible

No problem man! I had to deal with this back in my EIDE days. it worked 90% of the time.

But yes, you must have your OS hard disk as Primary Master.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Secondary hard disk drive 0,1 not not found at bootup[dell pc] acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-22-2009 12:08 AM
Why do I get low FPS in WoW? EliteScouter New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-20-2009 03:52 PM
USB works. Flash drive doesn't. Jayce Linux and Open Source 5 02-20-2009 04:02 AM
Extra Drive Creator xXxexpertxXx Microsoft Windows and Software 7 05-26-2008 02:20 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.