Seagate 250bg Showing at 127GB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2007, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
Default Seagate 250bg Showing at 127GB

I got a 250gb Seagate Baracuda and since installation it's been showing up as 127GB. I've flashed/updated the bios and when I check the volume/populate via windows it sais...

Capacity: 238473 MB
Unallocated Space: 107411 MB

And below that it sais

Capacity 121062 MB...

Completely lost lol.

Any help would be appreciated as I'm filling it up

LittleWing is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Seagate 250bg Showing at 127GB

try partitioning it to 120gb to 120gb

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Seagate 250bg Showing at 127GB

Well wait, it sounds like this might be an OS issue?

What are you running and which service pack?

For Windows 2000 you need SP-3 with 48-bit reg patch applied (and SP4 as well). For Windows XP you need SP1. Well just a stab in the dark I guess.
DJUDX is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Seagate 250bg Showing at 127GB

Make sure you have SP2 for Windows XP. Then you can partition it to the max space. You need Partition Magic or similar. Email me @, mention your TF name, and I'll send you Partition Magic so you can see all your space.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seagate Class Action Lawsuit Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 21 10-23-2007 09:19 PM
y r the prices of these HDDs differ from Seagate? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-17-2007 10:06 AM
Seagate to cut off IDE drives, by the end of the year b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-28-2007 09:46 PM
Stuff not showing in My Computer richardmarellan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-13-2007 03:03 PM
My C2D processor only showing one Core!! Please Help!! Nour Ershaid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 05-08-2007 12:11 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.