SCSI RAID in windows XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2006, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to radtadtod
Default SCSI RAID in windows XP?

Hi, i'm trying to set up some more storage for one of my windows XP SP2 boxes... and so far i've connected the 3 drives i have (2.5, 2.5, 3.2GB)(please dont laugh) and disk management only sees 2.0GB....and it is unable to format successfuly... any help?

phaux keeng mahuds.
radtadtod is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

Please Start By Answering ALL of the the followng question in as MUCH DETAIL as possible.

How are all the HD attached. (Onboard SCSI? PCI SCSI? or Mixed EIDE and SATA and then SCSI?)
What Type of SCSI are you using? (There are many different types and I won't name them)
What are the Drives IDs and are they terminated properly?
Which Drive has the OS and which are the storage Drives?
What type of RAID Are you trying to setup?
Have you setup the array in CMOS?(Or if PCI interface, however you do it there.)

Any other information you can give us would be of great assistence.

Ste is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 01:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 149
Send a message via AIM to radtadtod

Uhh... k,
there are 2 hard drives atached to the main IDE controler, one master one slave, then I have a PCI controler card for the SCSI drives, SCSI 1 I think... 50 pin? I have a ribbon cable with 5 connectors on it, I attached my 3 drives to the first 3 avaible plugs. I think for this type of scsi you dont need termination right? My OS is on the master IDE drive, the type of RAID I'd like to set up is... 0, RAID 0 yes, stripping so I can have multiple drives into 1 big drive right? uuh.. there seems to be some sort of scsi set up, but I dont think its on my Motherboard's cmos.. and i found out 1 of the drives was messed up, so I stopped using it. er I think thats all...
phaux keeng mahuds.
radtadtod is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 07:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

to my knowledge all types of SCSI bar the newer SAS standard must be terminated. if you have any terminators just stick one on the next free connection on the cable. could you list the SCSI controller model. i had a lot of trouble recently with SCSI myself and it all turned out to be driver related.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.