SCSI, not seeing Striped - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-10-2006, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default SCSI, not seeing Striped

Hey, strange one for me but I'm new to all this anyway. I'm setting up a Raid-0 with two Atlas 10k IV drives, the 36gig ones. I plugged them both into an old ATTO ul2d card and Windows XP sees them both.

I can format them each for their own drive letter, and they work perfectly on their own. However, once I try to do a STRIPED Raid in XP it says striped but has the disk space and performance of a spanned. It makes no dang sense to me. Here's an image to illustrate:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...y2003/raid.jpg

I'm missing something REAL dumb and I know it, but don't know what it is!! Anyone? please?!

Old 10-10-2006, 03:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera

http://www.informit.com/articles/art...&seqNum=3&rl=1

Old 10-10-2006, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie

a raid 0 stripped array will appear to be 1 drive with twice the size of the origionals (36gb + 36gb=72gb) with no redundancy. a raid 1 mirrored array will appear to be 1 drive with the same size as the origionals (36gb + 36gb = 36gb) each drive contains the same information and either one can fail without loosing info. a raid 0 array will indeed look like spanned disk I think you got your terms mixed up.

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Old 10-10-2006, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Quote:
Originally posted by hefemeister