Scsi & Ide With Xp Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default Scsi & Ide With Xp Pro

Hi,

I am having a problem with one of the computers at work. When i turned it on one day the XP screen on startup would not load. The xp logo just hung and would not bring the desktop up. The loading bar continued to move from left to right. Windows XP Pro.

We decided after alot of trying to get it working to reinstall XP Pro on that drive over the top. To see if this would solve the problem.

However, we installed XP but it went onto one of the other drives E: Which has an IDE. The main drive we have is a SCSI. So now we were left with two drives both having XP Pro on them.

So now we formated the E drive to get rid of the XP Pro. Hopeing that we would be left with a clean drive for data etc. This is the IDE drive! And have the SCSI drive for Windows XP Pro.

Now the problem is when both hard drives are connected it 1st looks at the formatted drive 1st which is the IDE. and XP will not load as that is on the other drive the SCSI.

How do i get it to look at the SCSI drive 1st and not the IDE drive for it to load XP and look at the IDE drive as a clean data drive?

Hope someone can give us some info or guideance!

Cheers
Paul
__________________

pbul2004 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Spork 2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 219
Default

Sounds like a misplaced jumper setting or an issue with the boot load order. Also, I know that SCSI devices are very picky about their placement in the drive order. I'd check the BIOS for any specific SCSI related settings.
__________________

Spork 2.0 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 08:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you'll need drivers for the SCSi controller. when the XP disk loads, it should say "press F6 to install a third party SCSI or RAID driver"
pres F6 then
and you'll need to find drivers to install for that particular SCSI controller
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 08:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Disconnect the IDE drive.
Boot from XP install CD.
Enter recovery console.
Type "bootfix"
Type "bootcfg /rebuild" (don't forget the space)
Reboot
Enter BIOS
Set the SCSI disk as primary boot device.

SCSI controller drivers should already be installed because Windows worked before.

If Windows boots, re-connect the IDE disk (you can also disable it in BIOS instead of unplugging it.

After Windows booted, format the IDE disk.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.