Screen Resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2008, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Screen Resolution

Hello.
I have a 22" Monitor and i have had this system for just over 2 weeks.
The whole time i have has my maximum resolution on 1680 X 1050.

I've come home , switched my system on and the resolution is strange. Instead of the image being stretched all over the screen my desktop is displayed more on the right of the screen , all the text looks strange and if i want to go from the left side of desktop to the right side i have to move my cursor as far right as i can and then the desktop seems to scroll across
and the same goes for the top and bottom.

My max resolution is no longer 1680 X 1050 either, it now is 2560 X 1600.

Does anyone have any ideas/suggestions. Thank you in advance for any help
__________________

Dempoi is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Screen Resolution

Someone switched your resolution while you were not at home.
__________________

Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 12:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Screen Resolution

Sorry, but is this a persistant problem?

Is you desktop now loading fine on reboot?
Do you need to know how to change your resolution?
Or are you just curious on why this happened?

Cheers,

~ Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Screen Resolution

No i am still on 1600X1200.
I know how to change resolution.
I am just confused why last night my max resolution was 1680X1050 and now is 2560 X 1600. And that 1680 X 1050 won't display propperly
Dempoi is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Screen Resolution

OK

Initial checks...
You have the latest updates / drivers for your gpu.
You've confirmed that the hardware settings on your display are reset to "factory".
You don't have additional software (such as ATI Catalyst) managing your screen res and that all these settings are correct and updated.

Cheers,

~ Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Screen Resolution

I have drivers for my gpu and i haven't updated to my knowledge.
I don't understand why the resolution works fine 1 day and today it doesn't
Dempoi is offline  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Screen Resolution

That's just computers for you . Sometimes other apps you install conflict and just mess everything up.
Firstly then let's make sure your drivers are up to date - check your card makers website for the latest drivers and let us know if you need any help getting these installed.

This of course may not be the problem, but if we know you have the latest updated drivers then we can take a different approach.
Also you did not mention if you had any additional graphics software installed (such as the ATI Catalyst Manager) or if you had reset your displays settings.

If you require any help in the mean time just let us know.

Cheers,

~ Tkey
Yek is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 11:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Screen Resolution

Hello. Yesterday i reformatted the pc and today i installed all the drivers i needed to including my GPU drive.

@Tkey , I installed the most up to date drivers for my GPU but even after the reformat i still have this resolution problem. I didn't install "Catalyst Software Suite" I just downloaded the basic "Display Driver". I still have this problem after reformat so i don't understand where this problem is coming from now. ( By the way the drivers i installed today are the same ones i had before the reformat)

Thanks Tkey for your replies
Dempoi is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Screen Resolution

Ah ! , i have fixed the problem now and i am currently on 1680 X 1050 again

Before i linked my GPU to my monitor with a vga cable , but my gpu has a DVI port so i was using a DVI to VGA converter. But now i am just using my DVI cable and it works fine. Thanks for the replies
Dempoi is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 01:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Screen Resolution

Glad you got it sorted
If you have any futher problems just ask and we'll give out best shot at helping you out

Cheers,

~ Tkey
__________________

Yek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimizing Computer Screen Resolution for video games? akasixcon Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-19-2008 06:49 PM
Screen Resolution Problem! phantom555 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-23-2008 10:00 AM
Screen Resolution wont stay put blue4paper Linux and Open Source 25 12-28-2007 01:29 PM
screen resolution problem? TimBlanchard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-29-2007 12:44 PM
set screen resolution in BIOS changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-30-2007 06:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.