screen to dark - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default screen to dark

When I load video from my Panasonic camcorder to the computer and play it back it's very dark!? I took video at a wedding and playing on the camera or directly to the TV it looks fine. On the computer way to dark. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.
__________________

jckrssls is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

Adjust the video settings in the program your using
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

Try holding down Function and up arrow and it might make the screen brighter.
Giles is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

What media player are you using?

Also, what graphics card do you have?

Does this happen with any video you play, or just videos from your camcorder?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Windows, Nero, Real Player, QuikTime, it's dark on all of them. It's an older Riva TNT2. Now that you mention it, a couple of DVD's where dark also.
jckrssls is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Alright. Do you have the Nvidia graphics driver installed? Not sure if the graphics driver for your card has this feature, however...

Go to our Nvidia display settings and see if you can alter the brightness and contrast of video overlays. Check for color correction settings.

...See anything?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.