screen is black - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2008, 04:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: screen is black

Tried the other things we suggested?

Different monitor?
Different video card?
Is there integrated video on the motherboard? If so, try that
Used the tools Mak suggested? In order to burn the ISO files that are downloaded, google for Imgburn, and use that; its a free app so no need to worry about paying for it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 09:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: screen is black

Burning ISO Images with ImgBurn - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 10:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 79
Default Re: screen is black

I've tried a different video card, I've tried with each ram in, I've tried with my nic out. I took my whole computer apart and put it back together and still the same. I don't understand this. That burning stuff I don't think I can do that, this computer can't burn anyway. I was thinking psu but the one i tried putting in there didn't have enough cables so I don't know. What else can I do? Can I bring it in somewhere?
Derekgnr is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 11:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: screen is black

This seem likes a Video Input problem. But seeing that you have swapped video cards, have you tried swapping motherboards?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: screen is black

is this an ASUS board?

Last time I had that happen it was an ASUS and the board was bad. The bios chip was fried apparently. ASUS could get it working and tried flashing it but it just wouldnt take the flash right. Even replacing the CPU didnt help so that ruled out CPU.

RMA the board if you can.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: screen is black

Try the PC with only the HDD, PSU, mobo, CPU, and Video card. Eliminate everything else that could use power or cause issues. Then try it. See what happens. Do not plug in any entra hard drives jsut the one with the OS. Do not even plug in the DVD Drives or the floppy drive. Just what i mention above.

This will be able to tell us if it is a a bit more info. If it works then something you have could be shorting out the system.

Also check online for a power calculator and see if you Power Supply is strong enough.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 02:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 79
Default

It is an ASUS board. But why would it just do this after it was fine for over 3 years? My warranty is over so I can't RMA it. I don't have another motherboard and I have no clue how to put one in, I have a hard enough time putting in a PSU.

I will try what Mak said.

I tried without any drives and it still does the same thing.

So I guess it's either the mobo, cpu or PSU. I don't know if should try the other PSU again even though it doesn't have enough connections. Maybe if I just hook up the main stuff? I don't think I have everything hooked with my PSU(after I took everything off), there's so much stuff, I have loose cables and I don't know where they go. I don't know what to do now.

I do have a fan that's not spinning but it hasn't been spinning for a long time with no problems. I believe it's the northbridge fan? It's a small fan.
Derekgnr is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 09:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: screen is black

That is a big problem. You need that part of the mobo. That could be why you are getting these issues. Could have killed the Northbridge which would kill your mobo.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 09:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 79
Default Re: screen is black

So you think my mobo is dead now? Or if I replaced the fan it might work?
Derekgnr is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 10:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: screen is black

Well you can try the fan. I did not know you didnt have a working fan on the northbridge. If you would have said that earlier we could have saved some time on this.

Try replacing the fan. See if you can salvage the mobo.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Screen Blinking Cursor NOT AGAIN! spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-06-2008 07:46 PM
strange black screen problem flashychap Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-27-2007 05:59 PM
Fix for black screen in Nintendo Wii virtual console games Osiris Nintendo 0 05-24-2007 08:13 AM
Black Startup Screen in XP doodah12 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-22-2007 03:38 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.