Sb Audigy/ Usb Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 08-08-2008, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Cool Sb Audigy/ Usb Issues

I just installed a new sb audigy se, but i have to take the rail off of it cause it was too small. I updated the sound drivers, and it shows that it is working, but i get no sound? i think i hook everythin up properly. it didn't come with instructions and i am still learning all the facinating thing about the computer. I see on the card there is a lil white component that has about 80 pins, and another next to it that is black and smaller with 4 pins, do i need to hook one of these up? the black one says (AUX in) I tried to find something that looked like it went together? I think I will check the back of the cd player. anyway please help, i'm sure it is something minor that I forgot. The problem is is that my pc is recognizing the card, but i get no sound from it. I use a Logitech USB headset. I figured once the card was installed that it would recognize the usb, and send the signal accordingly.

Thansk for your help in advance.

Spiro

Old 08-08-2008, 11:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie

Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Sb Audigy/ Usb Issues

i'm pretty sure if you are using a soundcard your speakers/headsets will have to hook into the card and not a USB port :|

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
Old 08-08-2008, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus

Hello,

The USB Headset will work if you get sound in Windows. If you get no sound in Windows then you will get no sound in your headset.